Loading...

Follow Nocturnal Book Reviews on Feedspot

Continue with Google
Continue with Facebook
or

Valid
Hooked by Elizabeth Hunter (7th and Main #2)
ecopy courtesy of the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
She’s in high heels; he wears hiking boots.
Can these two opposites make romance in Metlin work?

Tayla McKinnon is not a small town girl. The fashion blogger moved to Metlin with two goals in mind: help her friend start a book store and have a little fun. A year later, Tayla has made new friends, successfully launched INK, and is ready for a new challenge. Too bad she can’t get a certain rock-climbing, comic book geek off her mind.

Jeremy Allen has been playing the long game with Tayla, even though the avid outdoorsman was certain she was the one from the minute he set eyes on her. They may have different tastes, but their chemistry is undeniable.

When a job opportunity from a new fashion start-up lands in her inbox, Tayla takes it as a sign. She’s not meant for a small town, even though her best friend and her inconvenient crush are trying to convince her otherwise.

Jeremy can’t believe Tayla would be willing to leave her new life behind, but maybe he’s been playing it too cool. Summer in Metlin can sizzle, which gives Jeremy an excuse to turn up the heat.

Hooked is a stand-alone, opposites-attract romance in the Love Stories on 7th and Main series by Elizabeth Hunter, USA Today Bestselling author of INK.


Amazon kindle US/UK   9/10
* * *
This turned out to be a really cosy, beautiful contemporary romance series, Elizabeth Hunter has started. Ink was lovely, but in my view, as the author started settling in into Meitlin lives, Hooked was even better. I don't know why I'm surprised as it happens with every book from Elizabeth Hunter I read.


Tayla is someone I never thought twice about before, a fashion blogger and influencer. It was a very interesting insight into ins and outs of what she had to do to stay on top and what kind of income it provided. When we meet her first, Meitlin is just a placeholder for this city girl. She comes to help her friend and she is on the crossroads and doesn't know what direction to take. She doesn't think this small town living is for her. She is bold and vivacious and larger than life.

Jeremy, on the other hand, is someone Tayla thinks has nothing in common with her. He loves the great outdoors, sports and he wouldn't want to leave his small town for the world. He is a true gentleman, funny, smart and gorgeous. Despite their differences, he and Tayla sizzle together in perfect chemistry if only they gave in to their attraction. Jeremy has been slowly luring her in until his time suddenly runs out and he only has a short span to persuade this big city girl to stay with him.

Hooked is full of sass, thoughtfullness, and breathtaking romantic gestures. Jeremy and Tayla really think about each other's needs, and that selflessness builds a solid core for their connection. I loved how they both had to compromise and adjust their expectations in order to be happy. Romance like that makes me so happy, it's smart, it's real and it happens in everyday life if only you let it.

Please, grab this book and its predecessor, Ink without any hesitation. You will enjoy them both! And I hear, book three Grit will be released pretty soon as well. Enjoy!


* * *
Не знаю почему я всегда удивляюсь, что каждая новая книга  от Элизабет Хантер оказывается лучше предыдущей. Hooked лучше Ink, так как и читатель и автор чувствует себя все более комфортно в чарующем маленьком городке Мэйтлине.

Тэйла занимается тем, о чем я никогда не задумывалась до этого. Она блоггер стиля и инфлюэнсер, и мне было очень интересно посмотреть сколько труда уходит на поддержку ее блога, подписчиков, и каких заработков можно от этого ожидать. Когда мы встречаем ее впервые, она думает что ее проживание в Мэйтлине временно пока она помогает своей подруге встать на ноги, что маленький городок не для нее - любительницы большого города. Она - яркая, харизматичная и живописная фигура.

Джереми совершенно ей в этом противоположен. Тихий, воспитанный, очень юморной, с острым умом и манерами настоящего джентельмена, он любит Мэйтлин и занимается скалолазанием, практически все его хобби - это что-то спортивное на природе. Несмотря на их противоположные интересы между ним и Тэйлой шикарная химия и первоклассное флиртование. Однако, его время для медленного завоевания ее сердца заканчивается, когда Тэйле поступает предложение о работе ее мечты в большом городе, и Джереми предстоит за короткое время убедить ее остаться с ним.

Hooked наполнена задором, глубокомысленными романтическими жестами, от которых щемит сердце и компромиссами. Тэйла и Джереми в первую очередь пытаются думать о благополучии друг друга и это отсутствие эго строит солидный фундамент для их отношений. Романы наподобие этому делают меня очень счастливой - они умны и реалистичны и могут произойти в нашей жизни, если мы только им это позволим.

Читайте и книгу первую и вторую. Третья уже на горизонте. Очень рекомендую.
  • Show original
  • .
  • Share
  • .
  • Favorite
  • .
  • Email
  • .
  • Add Tags 
How to Dance an Undead Waltz by Hailey Edwards (The Beginner's Guide to Necromancy #4) 
bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Keep a spot open on your dance card. This is one ball you don't want to miss.

Grier is nursing a broken heart after Boaz announced his engagement to another woman, but life goes on. Or it would if vampire assassins would stop taking pot shots at her every time she leaves Woolworth House. Seriously, who sends archers to deliver murdergrams these days?

To protect herself, Grier must pull out all the stops, even if it means revealing her darkest secret. All eyes are on her, and — for the first time — she begins to understand why Linus wears so many masks. But the target isn’t Grier, and when the archers single him out, it feels like one of their arrows might have struck what remains of her heart.


Amazon Kindle US/UK

8.5/10
* * *
I hope you are following this series that way I am, which is bingeing. Because it's worth it. I am worth it. *grins*



Grier does a ball. Grier who until recently lived on noodle soup and frozen waffles has to go all out to flash out the villain who tries to abduct/kill her all the time. And Linus is right there to support her all no matter what.

I am firmly Team Linus, by the way. He is adorable in his many layers of love for Grier. And the more I, as a reader, find out about him, the more endearing he becomes.  

The half-fae pack which starts living next toWoolly is a hoot as well, and I love the way Grier collects beings who want to fiercely protect her and yet have this easy sassy banter which doesn't allow her to slack off or become puffed up with her own importance.

The plot thickens, the world continues opening up and expanding, and the ending is suitably fascinating for me to delve straight into the next and latest book in the series. Very much recommended. Especially for the fans of Kim Harrison, Darynda Jones and Charlaine Harris.

* * *
Я надеюсь, что вы также зачитываетесь этой серией как и я. Потому, что она этого стоит.

Гриер устраивает бал. Гриер, которая до последнего времени жила на инста-супе и замороженных вафлях, надеется с помощью Линуса и его мамы вывести наружу злодея, который постоянно за ней охотится, и личность которого ей неизвестна.

Я кстати полностью за Команду Линус. Ну такой он милашка в его глубокой, многослойной привязанности к Гриер, которую она в сравнении с Боазом все больше и больше ценит.

И вообще у нее уникальная способность подбирать существ, которые не только остаются ей преданны до последнего, но и дают ей под зад в шуточных перепалках, чтобы она не зевала, не жаловалась и становилась сильнее как личность и лучше как друг. Например, стая собак полу-фэ, которые быстро становятся ее друзьями, вступая в роль Амели.

Сюжет сгущается, мир продолжает развиваться и раскрываться, и концовка этот книги такова, что я тут же начала читать продолжение. Очень рекомендую, особенно поклонникам Даринды Джонс, Ким Харрисон и Шарлэйн Харрис.
  • Show original
  • .
  • Share
  • .
  • Favorite
  • .
  • Email
  • .
  • Add Tags 
Nocturnal Book Reviews by Kara-karina@nocturnal Book Reviews - 5M ago
Wild Country by Anne Bishop (The World of The Others #2)
In this powerful and exciting fantasy set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Others series, humans and the shape-shifting Others will see whether they can live side by side...without destroying one another.

There are ghost towns in the world—places where the humans were annihilated in retaliation for the slaughter of the shape-shifting Others.

One of those places is Bennett, a town at the northern end of the Elder Hills—a town surrounded by the wild country. Now efforts are being made to resettle Bennett as a community where humans and Others live and work together. A young female police officer has been hired as the deputy to a Wolfgard sheriff. A deadly type of Other wants to run a human-style saloon. And a couple with four foster children—one of whom is a blood prophet—hope to find acceptance.

But as they reopen the stores and the professional offices and start to make lives for themselves, the town of Bennett attracts the attention of other humans looking for profit. And the arrival of the Blackstone Clan, outlaws and gamblers all, will uncover secrets…or bury them.


Add to Goodreads

* * *

Now that I caught up to everything, I can't wait to see what happens in this book. This series is so nail-bitingly intense! 

 A Dangerous Collaboration by Deanna Raybourn
Victorian adventuress Veronica Speedwell is whisked off to a remote island off the tip of Cornwall when her natural historian colleague Stoker's brother calls in a favor. On the pretext of wanting a companion to accompany him to Lord Malcolm Romilly's house party, Tiberius persuades Veronica to pose as his fiancée--much to Stoker's chagrin. But upon arriving, it becomes clear that the party is not as innocent as it had seemed. Every invited guest has a connection to Romilly's wife, Rosamund, who disappeared on her wedding day three years ago, and a dramatic dinner proves she is very much on her husband's mind.

As spectral figures, ghostly music, and mysterious threats begin to plague the partygoers, Veronica enlists Stoker's help to discover the host's true motivations. And as they investigate, it becomes clear that there are numerous mysteries surrounding the Romilly estate, and every person present has a motive to kill Rosamund... 


Add to Goodreads

* * *

Another excellent series here. Every time I read about Veronika's adventures I have so much fun!

 A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine Ambassador Mahit Dzmare arrives in the center of the multi-system Teixcalaanli Empire only to discover that her predecessor, the previous ambassador from their small but fiercely independent mining Station, has died. But no one will admit that his death wasn't an accident--or that Mahit might be next to die, during a time of political instability in the highest echelons of the imperial court.

Now, Mahit must discover who is behind the murder, rescue herself, and save her Station from Teixcalaan's unceasing expansion--all while navigating an alien culture that is all too seductive, engaging in intrigues of her own, and hiding a deadly technological secret--one that might spell the end of her Station and her way of life--or rescue it from annihilation.


Add to Goodreads

* * *

The premise snagged me, and while I know nothing about this author I am willing to try this book.

  The Devil and The Dancer by Elizabeth Hunter
 Sometimes falling is the safest step to take.

Chloe Reardon has a problem, and his name is Gavin Wallace.

Okay, Gavin isn’t exactly a problem, unless you consider a highly attractive wind vampire with dubious intentions a problem. Especially if that vampire is your boss. With an affinity for kilts and excellent taste in music.

But none of that matters because Chloe Reardon has had enough of dangerous men. Danger is overrated. Danger is the opposite of sexy. So Gavin is the last man—or vampire—on earth she needs to let into her heart.

Except what if the most dangerous man you knew was also the one who made you feel the strongest?

The Devil and the Dancer is a paranormal romance novella in the Elemental Legacy series. 


Add to Goodreads

* * *
 I actually have this one as a review copy and looking forward to reading it as I really like Chloe and Gavin.


  • Show original
  • .
  • Share
  • .
  • Favorite
  • .
  • Email
  • .
  • Add Tags 
How to Break un Undead Heart by Hailey Edwards (The Beginner's Guide to Necromancy #3)
bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Grier finally has the one thing she’s always wanted: Boaz Pritchard. Too bad her dream boyfriend is keeping her up nights, just not in a sweaty or fun way. Boaz has dialed down the Southern charm and stopped returning her calls. His job forces him to keep secrets, but his radio silence is cranking up her suspicions. He’s a shameless flirt, but he’s her shameless flirt… right?

Soon an attack on Woolworth House leaves her with bigger problems than he loves me, he loves me not. Vampires are on the prowl, and they aren’t the only predators circling. A new threat has emerged, one with blood rights to Grier. With enemies closing in on all sides, she must choose her allies, and the decision could make or break her… and her heart.

Warning: This book contains a buttload of zombie parakeet poop. Like grab a poncho and thank me later. Watch out, y’all. It’s about to hit the fan. Hearts will break, and heads will roll. Literally.


Audible US | Amazon Kindle US/UK

8.5/10
* * *

So much cool stuff. Each book gives a little bit more juice, and it just becomes a little bit more delicious. I am starting to dread discovering that Linus is a closet villain (so far, he is not), but that boy is just a liiiittle bit too perfect. 


And very much adorable. A long, unrequited crush on Grier? Check. Respect, zero mansplaining and willingness to be a damsel in distress from time to time? Check. Attentiveness to detail? Check. Can cook delicious meals and feeds the heroine all the time? Check.

Sooo, there is some heartbreak in this book, peeps. Also, a field trip and an acquisition of more strays/allies. And again, so. much. fun. Good pace, very engaging characters and the world which keeps opening up more and more. I am pretty smitten and looking forward to the next book in the series. Recommended. Read it.

* * *

Так много всего хорошего здесь, ребята. С каждой книгой все больше и больше сочных деталей, и они все вкуснее. Я начинаю побаиваться, что Линус обернется клозетным злодеем (пока нет!), а то что-то он слишком идеален. И очень мил.

Долгая тайная влюбленность в Гриер? Есть. Уважение, ноль мужских объяснений и небоязнь играть барышню в поисках помощи время от времени? Есть. Внимание к деталям? Есть. Умение готовить вкусно и быстно для героини? Есть.

А также будьте готовы к разбитым сердцам, выездным приключениям и приобретению новых союзников/помощников. Короче, не книга, а сплошное веселье. Хороший ритм, очень занятные герои и мир, который продолжает все больше раскрываться. Очень мне нравится серия, буду продолжать читать дальше и вам советую.
  • Show original
  • .
  • Share
  • .
  • Favorite
  • .
  • Email
  • .
  • Add Tags 
How to Claim an Undead Soul by Hailey Edwards (The Beginner's Guide to Necromancy #2)
bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Life was simpler for Grier when she was flat broke and a social pariah. Now she's carrying the baggage that goes along with the title of Dame Woolworth, and shouldering that weight is giving her a serious crick in the neck. Her work as a Haint is the one thing that makes her feel normal, but even that's more paranormal than usual.

Spirits are vanishing from well-known hot spots on the ghost tour circuit, and vampires are turning up as shriveled husks. When Grier stumbles across the menace preying on Savannah's supernatural community, what she uncovers is bigger than a few flickering lampposts gone dark. It's a deadly threat unleashed by one of their own, and the cost of saving her city might be her life.


Audible US | Amazon Kindle US/UK

8.5/10
* * *
 It's the second book in series and I am still enjoying the ride. It's a helluva one at that! I think the author is just warming up.

Grier has just regained her status but she is uncomfortable with it. She tries to keep to a certain routine in fear of breaking apart, and her lessons with Linus is my favourite part of it. He is one cool dude with plenty of tricks up his sleeves. He is also supporting her in many unexpected ways which make me suspect that he had the same unholy crush on her as she had on Boaz, and it never wore off.

Boaz is still there, but Linus is the new shiny. Both are involved in an investigation of ghostly disappearances, both from very different angles. Grier is also starting to regain some of her balance, which is lovely to see as well.

This book was engrossing and entertaining, and I breezed through it very quickly. The sass in interspersed with fascinating plot twists which slowly unravel the world-building before our eyes. I think I found a new favourite in urban fantasy genre, and as the backlist is long, I am settling for a long ride. Recommended for the fans of Ilona Andrews and Patricia Briggs, read it.

* * *
 Уже прочитала вторую книгу этой серии и очень ею насладилась. Мне кажется, автор только разогревается!

Гриер оправляется от своих травм и пытается поддерживать какой-то бытовой режим, чтобы чувствовать себя нормально. Самое классное в ее бытовухе - это уроки некромантии с Линусом, ее кузеном. Такой он интересный характер с кучей трюков в рукове. Он также поддерживает ее мириадой маленьких, но значительных путей, что заставляет меня подозревать, что он борется с такой же детской влюбленностью в Гриер, что и она в Боаза.

Боаз - все тот же романтический интерес, но Линус - это новая блескучка. Оба помогают Гриер в расследовании исчезновения призраков, но с совершенно разных углов. И вообще, приятно видеть как она постепенно восстанавливает свою чувство равновесия в этой новой для нее реальности.

Очень интересная и захватывающая книга, читалась как на лету. Сарказм был тщательно перемешан с неожиданными поворотами сюжета и медленно раскрывающимся построением мира. Я нашла нового любимого автора в жанре городского фэнтези и очень хорошо, что у нее так много вышло уже книг, буду читать их еще долго. Всем советую, особенно поклонникам Илоны Эндрюс и Патриции Бриггз.
  • Show original
  • .
  • Share
  • .
  • Favorite
  • .
  • Email
  • .
  • Add Tags 
Mission: Improper by Bec McMaster (London Steampunk: The Blue Blood Conspiracy #1)
bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Three years ago, London society changed forever, with a revolution placing the widowed Queen firmly on the throne her blue blood husband tried to take from her. Humans, verwulfen and mechs are no longer considered the lesser classes, but not everybody is happy with the new order…

Entire families have gone missing in the East End. When Caleb Byrnes receives an invitation to join the Company of Rogues as an undercover agent pledged to protect the crown, he jumps at the chance to find out who, or what, is behind the disappearances. Hunting criminals is what the darkly driven blue blood does best, and though he prefers to work alone, the opportunity is too good to resist.

The problem? He’s partnered with Ingrid Miller, the fiery and passionate verwulfen woman who won a private bet against him a year ago. Byrnes has a score to settle, but one stolen kiss and suddenly the killer is not the only thing Byrnes is interested in hunting.

Soon they’re chasing whispered rumours of a secret project gone wrong, and a monster that just might be more dangerous than either of them combined. The only way to find out more is to go undercover among the blue blood elite… But when their hunt uncovers a mysterious conspiracy, Byrnes and Ingrid must set aside their age-old rivalry if they have any chance at surviving a treacherous plot.


Amazon Kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8.5/10
* * *

I had a long break from steampunk which means I missed on quite a few of Bec McMaster's books.

Mission: Improper restored my desire to read more in this genre, - it was really vivid, visceral and extremely entertaining. As it's the first book in a spin-off from London Steampunk series, the plot has a long development in making and I can not wait to delve into it even more.

Caleb is a blue blood and one of the Nighthawks who gets recruited into a new secret governmental organisation along with a certain werwulfen investigator with whom he spectacularly clashed before. Ingrid is one of the best trackers around, the pair bickers and snaps at each other while fighting the increasing attraction, and it's a total joy to watch.

The plot is absolutely fascinating with multiple layers to unwrap: blue blood conspiring against the Crown, people disappearing, vampires on the loose, a new type of blue blood emerging and a whole new idea of their background turning everything on its head.

Ingrid and Caleb work very well together, they fight ferociously, they love with just as much strength. But there are also very interesting secondary characters I am dying to find out about more. For example, Gemma, the spy, and her counterpart, - mysterious Obsidian.

In the end, the reader is left guessing and at the same time, satisfied. Recommended, and I am confident you'd enjoy it. Just make sure to start with London Steampunk, and then go onto the spin-off. You wouldn't want to miss out.

* * *

Я долго отдыхала от стимпанка и поэтому пропустила много книг от Бек МакМастер.

Эта книга восстановила мою любовь к жанру. Она была яркой, вицеральной и очень увлекательной. Так как это первая часть от спин-оффа Лондон Стимпанк, то сюжет будет развиваться еще долго, и я буду читать продолжение с большим удовольствием, так у мисс МакМастер все сочно получилось.

Калеб - один из лучших Ночных Ястребов вербуется секретной государственной организацией вместе с со своей соперницей, детективом - Ингрид Миллер. Эта парочка беспрестанно пикируется, сражается с растущим влечением друг к другу и раскрывает темные заговоры.

Сюжет очень интересный, многослойный. Тут вам и заговор голубых кровей против Короны, и открытие части происхождения и эволюции вампиров, которая ставит все с ног на голову, и несколько загадочных злодеев.

Калеб и Ингрид очень импонируют читателю, они любят также яростно как и сражаются, но эта книга раскрывает очень интересных второстепенных персонажей. Маллорен, например. Или шпионка Джемма со своей немезидой - Обсидианом.

Под конец, читателю остается догадываться, что произойдет дальше и в то же время концовка очень удовлетворительная. Рекомендую абсолютно, однако обязательно нужно читать Лондон Стимпанк первым, а то вы многое пропустите.
  • Show original
  • .
  • Share
  • .
  • Favorite
  • .
  • Email
  • .
  • Add Tags 
Tree of Dreams by Mel Sterling (The River: After Dark #1)
ecopy courtesy of the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
It's said that if you sleep under a willow tree, you'll dream of your true love.

Emma Leighton doesn't believe in fairy tales or monsters until a bolt of lightning from a freak summer storm reveals a glimpse of a river creature so fantastical, she can't be certain he's real.

Stranded by the storm, she spends the night in eerie Willow Cottage where terrified guests check out early, vowing never to return. Emma sees nothing out of the ordinary, but her dreams bring her a secret lover like no other, disturbing and alluring in equal measure. Moss is half man, half water serpent. His kisses are cool and deep as the Columbia River itself, and he's been in love with Emma for a long time.

What begins as a dream becomes flesh, an erotic fusing of hearts, souls and bodies. But when others learn the secret sheltered by Willow Cottage, they'll do anything—including kill—to possess it.

Welcome to The River: After Dark.

First in a new series.


Release date: February 15th 2019

Amazon Kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8/10
* * *
 Tree of Dreams is lovely, peeps. It has this sleepy, dreamy, poetic cadence which makes you enjoy not only the plot and the characters but the way we are told about them as well.

Also, fae sex. LKH, eat your heart out! There was something really magical and gentle about it.

Emma is a sweet soul, no surprise that Moss, Columbia river monster falls in love with her brown eyes. Moss living in symbiosis with a giant magical tree, Mother Willow, is an interesting creature. He is obviously some kind of fae who feeds on lightning and people's dreams, but he is solitary and very lonely.

One thing I wished this book had more is the backstory. It's very short, and I longed to get to know more of Emma or Moss' background and histories. Even secondary characters like Linnea or Gray were very interesting and engaging. Also, there is another mysterious character who I think might get his own book as well...

Overall, the story is short and simple but beautifully written. I loved Mel Sterling's Portland After Dark series, and this spin-off is just as good. If you like your fae dark and otherworldly (is there any other kind?), read it. Thank me later. *grins*

* * *
 Дерево Снов - красивая книга, мелодичная, поэтичная. Радуешься не только сюжету и героям, но и самому слогу.

И еще, секс с фэйри. Написан так, как Лорелл К. Гамильтон мечтает писать, но никак не может! Волшебно и пронзительно.

Эмма - просто душенька, и сразу понятно почему ее полюбил Мосс, монстр реки Колумбии. Мосс, живущий в симбиозе с огромным волшебным деревом - Матью Ивушкой,очень интересный фэ. Он набирает энергию, питаясь молнией и снами людей, спящими в коттедже, окруженном корнями ивы. Однако фэ он одиночный и одинокий.

Вот чего мне здесь не хватало - это истории Эммы и Мосса, без них книга получилась очень короткой. Даже такие интригующие второстепенные персонажи как Грэй и Линнеа только раздразнили мой аппетит.

Однако хоть и написано кратко, но красиво и душевно. Фэйри у Мел Стерлинг получаются неординарными, и этот спин офф серии Портланд После Темноты ничуть не хуже по качеству. Читайте, рекомендую.
  • Show original
  • .
  • Share
  • .
  • Favorite
  • .
  • Email
  • .
  • Add Tags 
The Secret Ingredient of Wishes by Susan Bishop Crispell
bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
26-year-old Rachel Monroe has spent her whole life trying to keep a very unusual secret: she can make wishes come true. And sometimes the consequences are disastrous. So when Rachel accidentally grants an outlandish wish for the first time in years, she decides it’s time to leave her hometown—and her past—behind for good.

Rachel isn’t on the road long before she runs out of gas in a town that’s not on her map: Nowhere, North Carolina—also known as the town of “Lost and Found.” In Nowhere, Rachel is taken in by a spit-fire old woman, Catch, who possesses a strange gift of her own: she can bind secrets by baking them into pies. Rachel also meets Catch’s neighbor, Ashe, a Southern gentleman with a complicated past, who makes her want to believe in happily-ever-after for the first time in her life.

As she settles into the small town, Rachel hopes her own secrets will stay hidden, but wishes start piling up everywhere Rachel goes. When the consequences threaten to ruin everything she’s begun to build in Nowhere, Rachel must come to terms with who she is and what she can do, or risk losing the people she’s starting to love—and her chance at happiness—all over again.


Amazon Kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8/10
* * *
 The Secret Ingredient of Wishes was lovely. It reminded me of Amy E. Reichert's books of which I am a big fan, mixed with Practical Magic. A little bit of magic and a whole lot of baking, - what can go wrong?

Rachel has been running away from her ability to make wishes come true all her life, ever since she wished her young brother out of existence. When she lands in Nowhere, North Carolina, this quirky and charming town doesn't allow her to continue on her way, so she gets stuck with a grumpy old woman, Catch Sisson, helping her bake pies that bind secrets. There are others with questionable powers here and with a whole lot of Southern charm, including Catch's gorgeous neighbour, Ashe.

But, her own secrets catch up to Rachel, and she either needs to face her powers and learn to control them or continue running. This is a very cosy, easy and sweet read, peeps. Charming and atmospheric, with enough of magical realism to keep things quite interesting. I'll be getting Susan Bishop Crispell's next book, for sure. Recommended.

* * *
"Тайный Ингредиент Пожеланий"-милая книженция. Она напомнила мне книги Эйми Е. Райкарт напополам с Практической Магией. Немного магии и много выпечки, - ну как такую смесь испортишь?

Рэйчел убегает от своей способности исполнять желания с тех пор как в детстве пожелала исчезновения своего младшего брата, да так, что стерла его из жизни всех ее окружающих. Ее последний побег заносит ее в городок Никуда, Северная Каролина. Городок очень странный и чарующий, который никак не хочет ее отпускать. И вот уже она остается жить с ворчливой старушкой, Катч Сиссон, талант которой - печь пироги, которые держат тайны людей в секрете и начинает ей в выпечке помогать. А тут еще красавчик сосед Катч - Аш заставляет ее сердце биться все сильнее.

Но секреты Рэйчел обнаруживаются и ей приходится принять решение - продолжать убегать или пустить корни и научиться управлять своими способностями. Атмосферно, чудесно, расслабляюще и с большим южным шармом. Понравилось, беру этого автора на заметку.
  • Show original
  • .
  • Share
  • .
  • Favorite
  • .
  • Email
  • .
  • Add Tags 
Kissing Tolstoy by Penny Reid (Dear Professor #1)
bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Proceeds for the month of release go to hurricane relief efforts.

What do you do when you discover that your super-hot blind date from months ago is now your super-hot Russian Lit professor?

You overthink everything and pray for a swift end to your misery, of course!


‘Kissing Tolstoy’ is the first book in the Dear Professor series, is 46k words, and can be read as a standalone. A shorter version of this story (28k words) was entitled ‘Nobody Looks Good in Leather Pants’ and was available via Penny Reid’s newsletter over the course of 2017. 

Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8/10
* * *
 This was an absolutely delightful read and Penny Reid at her finest. Also, I loved the joke on the cover. It says: "Kissing Tolstoy", but the actual picture is of Pushkin. I found it really funny. Being Russian myself and all that. Honestly, great romantic comedy.  Read it.
* * *
Ну, милейшая книга! Пенни в своем неподражаемом стиле. Особенно порадовала обложка с ее шуточкой. Ведь на ней написано "Целуя Толстого", а изображен Пушкин! Я конечно посмеялась. Короче, замечательная романтическая комедия. Умная и шутливая. Читайте.


The Cruel Prince by Holly Black (The Folk of The Air #1)
bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.

Jude was seven when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

As Jude becomes more deeply embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, she discovers her own capacity for trickery and bloodshed. But as betrayal threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself. 


Audible US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

9/10
* * *
This was one of the best books I read last year. I always enjoyed Holly Black's depictions of Fae. They are dark, vicious, very alluring and incredibly complex, so this was dark chocolate ice cream: rich and intense and yummy. Great characters, I would even say, epic. Read it, you would not be disappointed. 
* * *
Одна из лучших книг прошлого года для меня и для многих других читателей. Мне всегда нравились описания фэйри от Холли Блак. Темные, яростные, чарующие и неверояно сложные, прям как мороженое из темного шоколада: богатые по вкусу и очень насыщенные. Прекрасные, даже скажу, эпичные характеры. Читайте, не пожалеете.


One True Pairing by Cathy Yardley (Fandom Hearts #2)
ecopy courtesy of the author

Synopsis from Goodreads

They couldn't be more opposite, the Hollywood actor and the hometown girl, but all they need is a little convention magic to become the perfect ship in Cathy Yardley's One True Pairing.

Jake Reese needs a decoy girlfriend. Fast. The lead actor of the popular TV show, Mystics, is tired of losing his shirt to overeager fans. Literally. Which is why a chance meeting with gothabilly bookworm-slash-barista Hailey Frost seems almost too perfect to be true. Hailey is not impressed with his TV fame and is desperate to save her family's bookstore. It's a match made in Hollywood, but as the two pretend to date, fan fiction becomes reality. Can this OTP become canon? 


Audible US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

7/10
* * *
Cute, entertaining and very easy to read romantic comedy. I already mentioned in reviews of book#1  and book #3 how much I like this series. It's geeky and light and really quick to read, so you don't feel like you are committing. Jake is endearing, and Hailey is as bristly as a hedgehog, but their story is lovely and the secondary plotlines are just as interesting. Go for this series when you crave a comfort read.
* * *
Милая, развлекательная и очень легкая романтическая комедия. Я уже упоминала в рецензиях на книгу первую и третью, насколько мне нравится эта серия. Она гиковская, простенькая и читается быстро, особенно когда не хочется тратить время на тяжелые тома. Джейк - очаровашка, Хэйли щетинится как морской еж, но история их симпатичная, да и второстепенные сюжетные линии интересны. Читайте, особенно когда хочется чего-то комфортного.
  • Show original
  • .
  • Share
  • .
  • Favorite
  • .
  • Email
  • .
  • Add Tags 
Blood Apprentice by Elizabeth Hunter (Elemental Legacy #2)
ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
If you’re a human in a vampire’s world, nothing goes according to plan.

When a map to the mysterious fortune of notorious privateer Miguel Enríquez falls in the lap of Ben and Tenzin, only one of them is jumping at the opportunity. Tenzin can’t wait to search for a secret cache of gold. Ben, on the other hand, couldn’t be less excited.

All Ben knows about Puerto Rico is what he hears on the news and a few lingering memories of his human grandmother. Going back to his roots holds zero appeal for the carefully constructed man he’s become.

In the end, the lure of hidden gold can’t be denied.

Ben and Tenzin head to Puerto Rico where the immortal world is ruled by Los Tres, a trio of powerful vampires commanding the wind, the waves, and the mountains that make up this small island in the Caribbean.

To find Enríquez’s treasure, they’ll have to walk a fine line between flattery and secrecy. To leave the island might mean a bigger fight than either one of them foresaw.

Blood Apprentice is the second novel in the Elemental Legacy, a paranormal mystery series by Elizabeth Hunter, author of the Irin Chronicles. 


Release date: February 12th 2019.

Amazon Kindle US/UK

8.5/10
* * *
 
Whoa! How the dynamics have changed between my favourite couple! This book was gripping, entertaining and bittersweet.

It's all fun and games until Ben has to face his past and his roots by going with Tenzin to Puerto Rico where they will chase a pirate treasure amidst the upheaval in local vampire court. The closer he is to the land and people he stepped away from in order to stay close to his adopted uncle, the more his childhood memories resurface.

It's all a barrel of laughs until Tenzin faces her fear of being underground and her growing attraction to her partner. She has this immense complexity and duality where she is constantly at war with herself. "Kill him. He is a weakness." "Take him. He is yours." It's a tug of war, alright, and it cranks up the tension.

While the treasure hunt is very entertaining, it's the emotions between these two, what's being said and left unsaid that is very powerful. I absolutely loved it, and I can not wait to see what the future brings.

Gio has a cameo appearance, and he is at his best! And Los Tres, the vampire court of Puerto Rico had an intriguing secondary plotline which I really enjoyed.

Overall, this is Elizabeth Hunter at her best. I adore her books and especially Elemental Legacy series. Highly recommended. Read it.

* * *
 
Ничего себе, динамика между моей любимой парочкой воров! Как же она поменялась! Эта книга была напряженной, развлекательной и горько- сладкой.

Это все шуточки и веселье пока Бену не приходится лететь с Тензин в Пуэрто Рико, чтобы поохотиться за потерянным пиратским сокровищем посреди хаоса и интриг местного двора вампиров. Столкнувшись со своими корнями и родственниками, от которых он давно отказался в пользу Джио, Бен начинает вспоминать давно забытые кусочки детства.

Это все лукавство и сарказм, пока Тензин не приходиться бороться со своим страхом быть заживо погребенной и растущим влечением к своему партнеру. ОНа очень комплексный и противоречивый персонаж. "Убей его. Он - твоя слабость." "Возьми его. Он принадлежит тебе." Она постоянно борется с самой собой. И в то же время, Бен единственный, кто понимает ее и кто помогает ей измениться.

Хоть и охота за сокровищами интересна, именно эмоциональная борьба между партнерами держит читателя в напряжении. Что сказано и о чем умолчанно несет в себе глубокий смысл. И я жду не дождусь того, как будут развиваться отношения Бена и Тензин дальше.

У Джио здесь маккиавелливское камео, да и двор Трех - вампиров Пуэрто Рико оказывается довольно интересной второстепенной сюжетной линией.

В общем, Элизабет Хантер как всегда безупречна. Особенно в этой серии. Очень рекомендую. Читайте.

Read for later

Articles marked as Favorite are saved for later viewing.
close
  • Show original
  • .
  • Share
  • .
  • Favorite
  • .
  • Email
  • .
  • Add Tags 

Separate tags by commas
To access this feature, please upgrade your account.
Start your free month
Free Preview