Review: New Orleans Nocturnes Collection 1
Baskerville Book Reviews » Vampires
by Korra Baskerville
2M ago
Title: New Orleans Nocturnes Collection 1 Author: Carrie Pulkinen Release: January 24, 2022 Format: Audiobook Narrator: Hollie Jackson The plots in this collection almost feel like speed dating… which I’ve totally done before and didn’t just pull that example out of nowhere. You’re dropped into a world from the PoV of a character or two, they’re given a predicament to solve and have a month ~ to do so. I was quickly interested, as I found the world-building to be interesting. The plot McGuffin’s are easily the most forgettable aspect of these stories. The real appeal is the ch ..read more
Visit website
Review: The Curse of Cain
Baskerville Book Reviews » Vampires
by Korra Baskerville
5M ago
Title: The Curse of Cain Author: Theophilus Monroe Release: January 25, 2022 Format: Audiobook Narrator: Theophilus Monroe Series: The Vilokan Asylum of the Magically and Mentally Deranged 1 – 3 Hard pass…. I wish it was that simple, but that’s not a proper review. I like this literary universe, hell, I’d go as far as to say it’s one of my favorite literary universes. Behind the Bloodlines Reforged Saga, Aurora Wasteland Literary Universe, Relics of War series, and others I won’t name. I’ve been listening to the books from this series for several years now, almost as long a ..read more
Visit website
Review: Minion
Baskerville Book Reviews » Vampires
by Korra Baskerville
7M ago
Title: Minion Author: L.A. Banks Release: June 4, 2003 Format: Hardcover Series: Vampire Huntress Legend Series I was introduced to this series on Christmas 2009. I began reading the special edition of Minion in May 2010. I bought this copy in 2020 and began reading it in November or December 2022. This was long overdue. For years now, I’ve read comments from people asking if Minion gets better, or referring to it as janky. I wasn’t sure what they meant, as it always seemed pretty solid to me. The version I was reading was the Special Huntress Edition. The SHE adds a couple of ..read more
Visit website
Review: Stalking Shadows
Baskerville Book Reviews » Vampires
by Korra Baskerville
7M ago
Title: Stalking Shadows Author: R.J. Hanson Release: October 31, 2022 (Physical) March 23, 2023 (Audiobook) Format: Physical Audiobook Narrator: Terry F. Self Series: Lords of Order and Chaos #4 Bloodlines Reforged Saga #7 To make my bias’ known at the start; I’m a huge fan of this series, the saga, and the world they’re set in. I run the official wiki, and I’m an admin on the official Facebook group. I beta-read this book as well, so that did somewhat impact my perception of things. On the topic of beta-reading this, I honestly thought this was an unintentional comedy the ..read more
Visit website
Magic Betrayed
Baskerville Book Reviews » Vampires
by Korra Baskerville
7M ago
Title: Magic Betrayed Author: Elizabeth Kirke Release: March 29, 2021 Format: Audiobook Narrator: Starla Huchton Series: More than Magic #4 This is a DNF from me. This audiobook’s narrator is horrible. She reads everything in this bland, lifeless, monotone voice that just fucking sucks the life out of the story. While her character voices are decent, they act more like beacons of respite from her horrible narration. One of her characters seems to have the same voice as her overall narration, which is extremely fucking annoying. I can’t even tell if this book has 1 or 2 prot ..read more
Visit website
Review: Witch’s Knight
Baskerville Book Reviews » Vampires
by Korra Baskerville
7M ago
Title: Witch’s Knight Author: Evelyn Silver Release: September 7, 2022 Format: Audiobook Narrator: Heidi Hogarten Series: The Bloodline Chronicles #1 To cut the review short, this review covers the audiobook. I can’t recommend the book because of the audio version, not for the content. It’s plagued with issues listed below, and selling such a sub-par product and making excuses for it is a show of disrespect to unsuspecting consumers. One of the things that stood out with his book was how beautifully descriptive it is. One witch was described as having eyes that looked like ..read more
Visit website
Review: Fires That Forge
Baskerville Book Reviews » Vampires
by Korra Baskerville
7M ago
Title: Fires That Forge Author: R.J. Hanson Release: March 22, 2021 Format: Audiobook Narrator: Terry F. Self Series: Lords of Order and Chaos #1 Bloodlines Reforged Saga This is a re-review for me. Book IV, Stalking Shadows is set to release next month, so I felt I was due for a refresher. I originally received this audiobook as a review copy, though I now consider it a personal copy for this review. To say I enjoy this book, series, saga is an understatement. I’m an admin on the official Facebook Group and I run the official wiki. Much like the first time I listened to th ..read more
Visit website
Review: Immortal Beginnings
Baskerville Book Reviews » Vampires
by Korra Baskerville
7M ago
Title: Immortal Beginnings Author: Rebecca Hefner Release: August 19, 2022 Format: Audiobook Narrator: Zachary Zaba Series: Etherya’s Earth # 4.5 My biggest complaint with Immortal Beginnings is just that it’s not long enough. I need more of Etherya’s Earth and this scratched the itch. It’s nice to get to know these characters, but it feels like having to say goodbye, right after getting to know them. During the Etherya’s Earth books, the characters talk about rehabilitating some of the demons, but I don’t really remember anything about it being addressed again. So that’s s ..read more
Visit website
Review: The Awakening
Baskerville Book Reviews » Vampires
by Korra Baskerville
7M ago
Title: The Awakening: A Vampire Huntress Legend Author: L.A. Banks Release: December 10, 2009 Format: Audiobook Narrator: Hillary Huber Series: Vampire Huntress Legend #2 I’m extremely biased in favor of this series. I’ve been a fan of it since 2010, so take that in mind when reading this review. I’ve tried to give it a more critical look this listen, and I’ve spotted some things I never noticed before. As Minion and The Awakening were originally one book, they make for a really slow burn. The story is primarily told through characters doing exposition dumps. Maybe this is ..read more
Visit website
Review: The Tracker’s Secret
Baskerville Book Reviews » Vampires
by Korra Baskerville
7M ago
Title: The Tracker’s Secret Author: Ingrid Seymour Release: April 13, 2021 Format: Audiobook Narrator: Kasi Hollowell Series: Mate Tracker #2 I don’t have much to say about The Trackers Secret. It feels as if I was dropped into the middle of a book without context. Seeing as this is book 2, I’ll explain that I did request book 1 as a review copy alongside this. The story just focuses on inside drama between characters I have no familiarity with and doesn’t really conclude on anything. Going into it and leaving it, I get this is the type of series that you’re supposed to rea ..read more
Visit website

Follow Baskerville Book Reviews » Vampires on FeedSpot

Continue with Google
Continue with Apple
OR