Robert E. Howard’s Turlogh Dubh (Part 3)
Spraguedecampfan » Pulp Heroes
by spraguedecampfan
5d ago
by Steve Replogle A friend of mine says it’s easier to find a Howard tale that was adapted by Roy Thomas for Marvel’s Conan series than it is to find a tale that was left untouched. The Turlogh Dubh O’Brien stories are mostly in the first category. “The Grey God Passes,” “The Dark Man,” and “The Gods of Bal-Sagoth” were all adapted during the early years of Thomas’ run on Conan the Barbarian. For all I know, “The Shadow of the Hun” has been adapted, too, and I just missed it among the proliferation of titles, creators, and publishers that have contracted with Conan Properti ..read more
Visit website
Robert E. Howard’s Turlogh Dubh (Part 2)
Spraguedecampfan » Pulp Heroes
by spraguedecampfan
2w ago
by Steve Replogle When Swords of the North was published in 2014, it marked the first time that all of Howard’s writings about Turlogh Dubh O’Brien were published under one cover. Before this a collector had to scramble regarding Turlogh. I still remember my feeling of surprise in 1977 when Zebra published The Sword Woman with “The Shadow of the Hun.” Here was a new Turlogh O’Brien tale! I had no idea that it even existed! The Sword Woman, Zebra Books, 1977 first mass market publication of “The Shadow of the Hun” REH Foundation, 2014 first time all of the Turlogh Dubh stories were co ..read more
Visit website
Robert E. Howard’s Turlogh Dubh (Part 1)
Spraguedecampfan » Pulp Heroes
by spraguedecampfan
2w ago
by Steve Replogle Many of Robert E. Howard’s readers are fascinated by the stories of Turlogh Dubh, or Black Turlogh O’Brien. Perhaps this is because of the power of “The Dark Man,” a Turlogh O’Brien story that has always been seen as one of Howard’s finest tales. It may also be that readers are intrigued by the unfinished writings about Turlogh. All Howard’s heroes have such fragments attached to their narratives, and many are intriguing. Turlogh O’Brien is no different. Turlogh, however, is one of the very few Howard heroes to never receive a complete book collection of his own. And while vi ..read more
Visit website
Review: Holmes, Marple & Poe by James Patterson and Brian Sitts
Spraguedecampfan » Pulp Heroes
by spraguedecampfan
5M ago
by Brian Kunde James Patterson, the famous thriller writer, and Brian Sitts, one of his junior collaborators, have made a cottage industry of late recycling old pulp heroes. Gary Romeo has previously commented on their maiden efforts, two volumes of a Shadow reboot (The Shadow, 2021, Circle of Death, 2023), and one of Doc Savage (The Perfect Assassin, 2022). He concluded that the first Shadow stank and the second was mediocre, while the Doc Savage was so-so. Well, they’re at it again, this time tripling down, with a novel titled Holmes, Marple & Poe (Little, Brown and Company, New York, 2 ..read more
Visit website
Review: Circle of Death (The Shadow Thriller) by James Patterson and Brian Sitts
Spraguedecampfan » Pulp Heroes
by spraguedecampfan
7M ago
by Gary Romeo I was prepared to be disappointed. I envisioned the first sentence of this review: “Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me.” After reading and reviewing the first book in the series I really expected to dislike this one as well. BUT… this one is better. This new novel still takes place in the future (2088), but it starts with a flashback to 1933 and references an actual Shadow pulp adventure. The villain of the story, Rodil Mocquino, is name dropped and The Shadow pulp magazine story is referred to: “A few years after, somebody wrote a novel about Mocquino and hi ..read more
Visit website
Sprague de Camp and The Shadow of Rod La Rocque
Spraguedecampfan » Pulp Heroes
by spraguedecampfan
7M ago
by Gary Romeo Fans of Robert E. Howard and L. Sprague de Camp are generally also Pulp Hero fans. So, when we come across a Conan fan who also likes The Shadow or Doc Savage, it isn’t too surprising. Finding out that L. Sprague de Camp actually knew of a mystery about The Shadow is surprising! Ok, Sprague didn’t know either Kent Allard or Lamont Cranston firsthand, but he knew of a story about Mr. La Rocque who played The Shadow in two films, The Shadow Strikes and International Crime. The Shadow Strikes has Rod La Rocque playing amateur criminologist Lamont Granston. (Yes, Granston with a G ..read more
Visit website
Fritz Leiber: No Kull, but Tarzan
Spraguedecampfan » Pulp Heroes
by spraguedecampfan
7M ago
by Gary Romeo On April 3, 1968, Fritz Leiber wrote a postcard to L. Sprague de Camp discussing his workload. Apparently, Glenn Lord had asked Mr. Leiber to continue the adventures of King Kull. But Fritz had to turn down the job as he was busy consolidating his own Fafhrd & Gray Mouser series. I do not have de Camp’s prior letter or any response. It is unclear what Fritz meant by saying “CONAN OF ATLANTIS is surely an accurate title …” Perhaps de Camp was considering that as a Lancer title or perhaps Fritz was mixing up Kull with Conan? No way of knowing for sure. What we do know for sur ..read more
Visit website
Hip Hop Doc Savage
Spraguedecampfan » Pulp Heroes
by spraguedecampfan
7M ago
by Gary Romeo Doc Savage is a 2016 album that I’m just now learning about. I simply never thought to check Amazon Music for anything about Doc Savage. My mistake has been rectified. I bought the CD and found that Doc Savage inspires some pretty good music. Brooklyn producer Willie Green uses Doc Savage adventure titles to create catchy hip-hop tunes. According to the internet Willie Green is “a classically-trained musician with a resume full of indie-rap bonafides.” From what I’ve read it sounds like Willie Green is a real “hands-on” producer. As I like a “hands-on” producer in the form of To ..read more
Visit website
The Shadowed Circle: A New Journal featuring The Shadow
Spraguedecampfan » Pulp Heroes
by spraguedecampfan
7M ago
by Gary Romeo The Shadowed Circle is a (relatively) new Pulp Journal. After a successful Kickstarter campaign they are off and running. There have been 4 issues so far with more on the way. They are taking regular subscriptions now for either paper or digital copies. The journal is the brainchild of editor/publisher Steve Donoso. The focus is on articles mainly about The Shadow pulps, but the radio series, comic books, and Shadow collectibles are fair game for discussion. The Shadowed Circle hopes to be to The Shadow what The Bronze Gazette is to Doc Savage. The first issue starts with an art ..read more
Visit website
What Went Wrong? The new Doc Savage book by James Patterson and Brian Sitts
Spraguedecampfan » Pulp Heroes
by spraguedecampfan
7M ago
by Gary Romeo The new Doc Savage “thriller” The Perfect Assassin by James Patterson and Brian Sitts just came out. It isn’t often that a book’s advertising copy invites a joke by providing such a straight line. I could mention a litany of bugaboos that I think made the novel go wrong but this novel wasn’t meant for guys like me. Guys who loved the original Doc Savage pulp adventures reprinted in the Bantam paperbacks. Nope. This novel is strictly geared to new readers. Fans of Patterson and company. People that trust his brand. It’s probably a smart move. The Shadow and Doc Savage have been ..read more
Visit website

Follow Spraguedecampfan » Pulp Heroes on FeedSpot

Continue with Google
Continue with Apple
OR