Through My Eyes: Australian Disaster Zones
Reading Australia » Children's Books
by Jenny Ryan
2M ago
The inspiring Australian Disaster Zones series, created and edited by Lyn White, is a powerful and contemporary reminder of the effects of natural disasters and the ever-increasing threat of climate change to our vast and volatile continent. Alex: Through My Eyes by Rosanne Hawk Thirteen-year-old Alex lives on a drought-affected property in South Australia with his mum, his dad, his kelpie dog Tangi and colt Jago. For years it hasn’t rained enough for them to put a crop in. And while all the farmers in the area are suffering, Alex’s dad is struggling more than most. As the drought stretches on ..read more
Visit website
The Garden at the End of the World
Reading Australia » Children's Books
by Jenny Ryan
2M ago
Isla and her mother go on an enchanting journey to the Global Seed Vault in Norway to discover a garden waiting at the end of the world. At the end of the world is an island covered in ice. On the island is a mountain. Inside the mountain is a vault. And inside the vault are millions of seeds. When Isla makes a special discovery, she and her botanist mother adventure to the Global Seed Vault in Norway. Isla is going to leave her precious package there, so children who haven’t even been born yet can grow and eat the food we all enjoy. What else will they encounter along the way? The Garden ..read more
Visit website
Berani
Reading Australia » Children's Books
by Jenny Ryan
2M ago
Malia, Ari and Ginger’s three distinct voices are interwoven to tell the story of Ginger Juice, an orangutan kept captive in a cage in this powerful and uplifting novel suitable for readers of The One and Only Ivan. Malia has had a privileged upbringing in Indonesia, but now her mother wants to return to her own family on the other side of the world. Malia is determined to stay in Indonesia, her home. Besides, if she leaves, how can she fight for her country’s precious rainforests? Ari knows he is lucky to be going to school and competing on the chess team, even if it means working long hours ..read more
Visit website
Bidhi Galing
Reading Australia » Children's Books
by Jenny Ryan
2M ago
Powerful and moving, Bidhi Galing (Big Rain) celebrates the Wiradyuri heroes of the Great Flood of Gundagai in 1852, told through the eyes of a young girl who is rescued from the raging floodwaters by her father. Wagadhaany grew up near the Marrambidya Bila. She loved dancing in the rain and listening to her father, Yarri, tell her stories about life on Wiradyuri ngurambang. When white people started building on the floodplains, Yarri was worried. He knew the power of the bila and tried to warn the strangers, but they would not listen. Years later, the big rains came … This is the story of the ..read more
Visit website
Come Over to My House
Reading Australia » Children's Books
by Jenny Ryan
2M ago
Come Over To My House is a delightful picture book that explores the home lives of children and parents who are Deaf or disabled. Co-written by disability advocate Eliza Hull and Australian Children’s Laureate Sally Rippin, the inclusive rhyming text authentically explores the characters’ various disabilities. A cast of friendly characters invite friends over for a play – there’s fun to be had, food to eat and families to meet! Come over to my house. Come over and play! I’ll show you around, you can stay the whole day. We’ll swing on the swing-set and splash in the pool. Then I’ll race you i ..read more
Visit website
Stay for Dinner
Reading Australia » Children's Books
by Jenny Ryan
2M ago
Stay for Dinner is a powerful story that celebrates culture and connection through food, from the creators of The Boy Who Tried to Shrink His Name, winner of the 2022 Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Award for New Illustrator. Reshma loves dinnertime with her family. Her family eat with their hands – not just finger food type-eating, but hands-on squishy eating. When she’s invited to stay for dinner at her friends’ places, she finds out that they all eat in different ways. Some go ting ting with their cutlery, and others go click clack with their chopsticks. So what will her friends ..read more
Visit website
Searching for Cicadas
Reading Australia » Children's Books
by Jenny Ryan
2M ago
This lovely story about a child and their grandfather searching for cicadas is part of the award-winning narrative nonfiction Nature Storybooks series. In the summertime, Grandpa and I go cicada-watching. We put our camping gear into my wagon and walk down to the local reserve. Last year we saw five Green Grocers, three Yellow Mondays and one Floury Baker. Can we find the rare Black Prince this year? This picture book brings together award winners Lesley Gibbes and Judy Watson to showcase the wonder and beauty of cicadas as well as highlight the common summer pastime of cicada-watching. Upcomi ..read more
Visit website
Frank’s Red Hat
Reading Australia » Children's Books
by Jenny Ryan
2M ago
A story about never giving up on your talents, because even though what you do may not be appreciated right now, it may be in time. Possibly by someone you’d least expect. Frank is a penguin with ideas. Mostly terrible ones. That’s why his fellow penguins are nervous when he shows them his strange new creation. Something they’d never seen or expected to see in their cold and colourless Antarctic world — a red hat. Upcoming resource Awards CBCA Book of the Year Awards, Picture Book Indie Book Awards – Children’s Category WAYRBA, Picture Book Funky Kids Radio Global Children’s Entertainment Awa ..read more
Visit website
Tell ’em!
Reading Australia » Children's Books
by Jenny Ryan
2M ago
A joyous and exuberant picture book about life in a remote community. Tell ’em how us kids like to play. We got bikes and give each other rides. Tell ’em about the dancing and singing, And all the stories the old people know. In this book, written in conjunction with children from Manyallaluk School in the Roper River region in the NT, the voices of Indigenous children sing out across the land to tell us about their life in a remote community. Upcoming resource The post Tell ’em! appeared first on Reading Australia ..read more
Visit website
Dragon Skin
Reading Australia » Children's Books
by Jenny Ryan
2M ago
This CBCA Honour Book from the bestselling and multi-award-winning author of Lenny’s Book of Everything is a magical tale about a girl who saves a dragon and rescues her family. How to save a dragon: Assemble equipment. Water, Weet-Bix, sugar, syringe, sticky tape, scissors. Believe in everything. Pip never wants to go home. She likes to sit at the waterhole at dusk and remember Mika, her best friend. At home her mother’s not the same since her boyfriend moved in. They don’t laugh anymore and Pip has to go to bed early, turn off her light and pretend she doesn’t exist. When she finds a half ..read more
Visit website

Follow Reading Australia » Children's Books on FeedSpot

Continue with Google
Continue with Apple
OR