The most beautifully designed books in Aotearoa -2024 PANZ Book Design Awards
New Zealand Society of Authors
by Jenny Nagle
2d ago
The Publishers Association of New Zealand Te Rau o Tākupu (PANZ) established the awards to promote excellence in, and provide recognition for, the best book design in Aotearoa New Zealand. This year’s judges, Anna Brown (convenor), Massey University, Te Kani Price, Huia Publishers, Simon Waterfield, Lift Education, and Chloe Blades, Unity Books, faced the daunting task of selecting the standouts from a strong pool of 134 submissions. “Across the more than 130 entries we had the pleasure of reviewing we were struck by the diversity of book design and artistic expression. Alongside grand and bo ..read more
Visit website
Protect and manage your intellectual property with MyCreativeRights Catalogue
New Zealand Society of Authors
by Jenny Nagle
2d ago
Catalogue is a secure cloud-based creative rights management system where you can safely document, organise, and store records of creative works, legal agreements and other supporting documents in one safe location. In today’s world of generative AI tools, some of which use writer’s material without their permission, it has become more important than ever to keep records of when and how your creative works were first written and published. Record keeping is essential in the case of a breach of copyright. Catalogue takes the stress out of the copyright management of your creative projects. The ..read more
Visit website
Kiwi readers vote for record number of new books in annual Whitcoulls Top 100 List
New Zealand Society of Authors
by Jenny Nagle
3d ago
MEDIA RELEASE Under strict embargo until Monday, July 22, 2024, 5:00am The 2024 Whitcoulls Top 100 Books List has changed by an astonishing 42 percent the bookseller reveals, as they announce their 2024 Top 100 Books List today Whitcoulls Book Manager Joan Mackenzie attributes this to a collective surge of enthusiasm for writers who are being shown a lot of love from online communities through the impact of book influencers and social media platforms. Whitcoulls also see readers venturing into new genres, with a growing appetite for books by local authors. Books in a series continue to capture ..read more
Visit website
Mātātuhi Foundation announces new funding pool
New Zealand Society of Authors
by Jenny Nagle
1w ago
Mātātuhi Foundation is excited to announce that grant applicants can now apply for up to $20,000 in funding in our October funding round, which closes on 31 October 2024. In previous years, the maximum grant per project was $5,000.  To mark our 12th funding round, the Mātātuhi Foundation has released a revised set of funding criteria to help individuals and organisations seeking literary project funding to see whether there is a match. To be eligible for Mātātuhi funding, a literary project must deliver against one or more of the following objectives: Helps develop a  ..read more
Visit website
Launch of audiobooks platform in NZ offers significant opportunities for local bookstores and publishers
New Zealand Society of Authors
by Jenny Nagle
1w ago
  Global audiobooks platform Libro.fm has launched in New Zealand and is set to be a major disruptor in an industry that is seeing year-on-year double digit growth. The Seattle-based social purpose corporation is the only audiobook e-tailer in the world that directly supports local bookstores, with consumers given an option to select a local bookstore of their choice to receive a commission from every Libro.fm audiobook purchased. Libro.fm co-founder Nick Johnson is in New Zealand this month meeting with booksellers and publishers. Mr Johnson says the idea of partnering with bookstores ha ..read more
Visit website
NZSA CompleteMS 2024 results -new stories by talented writers win NZSA manuscript assessments
New Zealand Society of Authors
by Claire Hill
1w ago
The New Zealand Society of Authors Te Puni Kaituhi O Aotearoa (PEN NZ) Inc announce the writers who will receive manuscript guidance through this year’s CompleteMS programme. Powerful manuscripts crafted by thirteen accomplished writers, have been chosen to take part in this year’s programme. Writers spend months polishing their stories for entry into this competitive and successful programme (open to NZSA members). Now each of the thirteen successful writers will receive a detailed assessment of their manuscript from one of Aotearoa / New Zealand’s leading writers and approved assessors, foll ..read more
Visit website
2024 Te Tauihu Short Story Awards results – congratulations to finalists and winners
New Zealand Society of Authors
by Claire Hill
1w ago
2024 Te Tauihu Short Story Awards results Te reo Māori category: FIRST PRIZE: Ko te Haerenga by Atakohu Middleton HIGHLY COMMENDED: Ko te rā tū tēnei by Hāmihi Duncan HIGHLY COMMENDED: Te hapori karawēne by Dr Darryn Joseph Judge Vaughan Rapatahana said: “I think that, without any doubt, our first prize winner is Ko te Haerenga. Well-written, well-paced, suspenseful, as dark as the night on which the activity takes place.” English language category: FIRST PLACE: My Alice by Jillian Robinson SECOND PLACE: Rosie & the Wolf by Tania Norfolk THIRD PLACE: The Thief by Angela Barnett Judge Paula ..read more
Visit website
This Way Lies Madness – anthology call for submissions
New Zealand Society of Authors
by Jenny Nagle
1w ago
  In the tradition of Poe’s ‘A Tell-tale Heart’ and Gilman’s ‘The Yellow Wallpaper’, This Way Lies Madness (publishing September 2025) will bring together a twisted tangle of dark stories featuring monstrous manifestations of trauma and guilt, paranoia and persecution, anxiety, addiction, and crippling terror. In these pages, readers should expect to find madness in all its forms, without the tired stigmatising tropes. Instead, these tales of deep-rooted terror will draw on metaphor, symbolism, imagery, structural innovation, and close introspection to challenge stigma and ..read more
Visit website
Call for nominations for Ngā Taonga Toi a Te Waka Toi Awards 2024
New Zealand Society of Authors
by Jenny Nagle
1w ago
Nominate Now! Tuku tono mai! Creative New Zealand Toi Aotearoa is calling for public nominations to honor outstanding toi Māori artists at the Ngā Taonga Toi a Te Waka Toi Awards 2024. Recognise the contributions of Māori artists in our communities. Three award categories are open for nomination, each with a $10,000 prize: Ngā Tohu Hautūtanga Auaha Toi – Making a Difference Award Ngā Manu Pīrere – Emerging Māori Artist Award Te Tohu Iho Pūmanawa – Contribution by a Deaf or Disabled Māori Artist Nominate by 12 August 2024. Details and forms are available on our website: https://ow.ly/GX ..read more
Visit website
Poisons, pandemic, and a pregnant detective: 2024 Ngaio Marsh Award longlist revealed
New Zealand Society of Authors
by Jenny Nagle
1w ago
A neurodivergent expert on toxic botanicals, a harrowing exploration of jury deliberations, a high-tech thriller from an Oscar-nominated screenwriter, a desperate mother searching for her son as lockdown kicks in, a gay sleuth in Renaissance Florence, and the return of a beloved fictional detective are among the diverse books named today on the longlist for the 2024 Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Novel “Fifteen years ago we launched the Ngaio Marsh Awards, in association with our friends at what’s now WORD Christchurch, to celebrate Kiwi excellence in one of the world’s most popular storytelling ..read more
Visit website

Follow New Zealand Society of Authors on FeedSpot

Continue with Google
Continue with Apple
OR