Book review: A House with Good Bones by T. Kingfisher
BookBum
by Zuky the BookBum
1y ago
Synopsis In this ordinary North Carolina suburb, family secrets are always in bloom. Samantha Montgomery pulls into the driveway of her family home to find a massive black vulture perched on the mailbox, staring at the house. Inside, everything has changed. Gone is the eclectic warmth Sam expects; instead the walls are a sterile white. Now, it’s very important to say grace before dinner, and her mother won’t hear a word against Sam’s long-dead and little-missed grandmother, who was the first to put down roots in this small southern town. The longer Sam stays, the stranger things get. And ever ..read more
Visit website
Book review: I Have Some Questions for You by Rebecca Makkai
BookBum
by Zuky the BookBum
1y ago
Synopsis A successful film professor and podcaster, Bodie Kane is content to forget her past—the family tragedy that marred her adolescence, her four largely miserable years at a New Hampshire boarding school, and the murder of her former roommate, Thalia Keith, in the spring of their senior year. Though the circumstances surrounding Thalia’s death and the conviction of the school’s athletic trainer, Omar Evans, are hotly debated online, Bodie prefers—needs—to let sleeping dogs lie. But when the Granby School invites her back to teach a course, Bodie is inexorably drawn to the case and its in ..read more
Visit website
Book review: The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James
BookBum
by Zuky the BookBum
1y ago
Synopsis Something hasn’t been right at the roadside Sun Down Motel for a very long time, and Carly Kirk is about to find out why in this chilling new novel from the New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls. Upstate New York, 1982. Viv Delaney wants to move to New York City, and to help pay for it she takes a job as the night clerk at the Sun Down Motel in Fell, New York. But something isnʼt right at the motel, something haunting and scary. Upstate New York, 2017. Carly Kirk has never been able to let go of the story of her aunt Viv, who ..read more
Visit website
Book review: Ghostwritten by Ronald Malfi
BookBum
by Zuky the BookBum
1y ago
Synopsis Four brand-new horror novellas from “a modern-day Algernon Blackwood” all about books, stories, manuscripts – the written word has never had sharper teeth… Full of creepy, page-turning suspense, these collected novellas are perfect for fans of Paul Tremblay, Stephen King and Joe Hill. In This Book Belongs to Olo, a lonely child has dangerous control over an usual pop-up book.  In The Skin of Her Teeth, a cursed novel drives people to their deaths.  A choose-your-own adventure game spirals into an uncanny reality in The Story.  From the bestselling author ..read more
Visit website
Mini book review: Beastings by Benjamin Myers
BookBum
by Zuky the BookBum
1y ago
Synopsis A girl and a baby. A priest and a poacher. A savage pursuit through the landscape of a changing rural England. When a teenage girl leaves the workhouse and abducts a child placed in her care, the local priest is called upon to retrieve them. Chased through the Cumbrian mountains of a distant past, the girl fights starvation and the elements, encountering the hermits, farmers and hunters who occupy the remote hillside communities. An American Southern Gothic tale set against the violent beauty of Northern England, Beastings is a sparse and poetic novel about morality, motherh ..read more
Visit website
Book review: My Phantoms by Gwendoline Riley
BookBum
by Zuky the BookBum
1y ago
Synopsis Helen Grant is a mystery to her daughter. An extrovert with few friends who has sought intimacy in the wrong places; a twice-divorced mother-of-two now living alone surrounded by her memories, Helen (known to her acquaintances as ‘Hen’) has always haunted Bridget. Now, Bridget is an academic in her forties. She sees Helen once a year, and considers the problem to be contained. As she looks back on their tumultuous relationship – the performances and small deceptions – she tries to reckon with the cruelties inflicted on both sides. But when Helen makes it clear that she wants more, it ..read more
Visit website
Book review: Hester by Laurie Lico Albanese
BookBum
by Zuky the BookBum
1y ago
Synopsis Isobel Gamble is a young seamstress carrying generations of secrets when she sets sail from Scotland in the early 1800s with her husband, Edward. An apothecary who has fallen under the spell of opium, his pile of debts have forced them to flee Glasgow for a fresh start in the New World. But only days after they’ve arrived in Salem, Edward abruptly joins a departing ship as a medic––leaving Isobel penniless and alone in a strange country, forced to make her way by any means possible. When she meets a young Nathaniel Hawthorne, the two are instantly drawn to each other: he is a man ha ..read more
Visit website
Book review: Elena Knows by Claudia Piñeiro
BookBum
by Zuky the BookBum
1y ago
Synopsis After Rita is found dead in the bell tower of the church she used to attend, the official investigation into the incident is quickly closed. Her sickly mother is the only person still determined to find the culprit. Chronicling a difficult journey across the suburbs of the city, an old debt and a revealing conversation, Elena Knows unravels the secrets of its characters and the hidden facets of authoritarianism and hypocrisy in our society. Review “Don’t keep the names people give you, Elena.”⁠ ⁠ In this short but impactful read, we follow Elena, an ageing woman suffering from advanc ..read more
Visit website
Book review: The Night Interns by Austin Duffy
BookBum
by Zuky the BookBum
2y ago
Synopsis Intravenous lines, catheters, bodies in distress, wounds: three young surgical interns working the night shift must care for – and keep alive – the influx of patients, while frightened and uncertain about what the night will throw at them. The Night Interns beautifully conjures the alien space of the hospital wards and corridors through the viewpoint of one of the interns, as he comes to terms with the bodily reality of the patients and the bizarre instruments of healing. Equally unsettling for the inexperienced junior staff are the dysfunctional hierarchies of the hospital work ..read more
Visit website
Book review: Black Mamba by William Friend
BookBum
by Zuky the BookBum
2y ago
Synopsis Daddy, there’s a man in our room… This is the chilling announcement Alfie hears one night, when he wakes in his quiet, suburban house to find his twin daughters at the foot of his bed. It’s been nine months since Pippa – their mother – suddenly died and they’ve been unsettled ever since, so Alfie assumes they’ve probably had a nightmare. Still, he goes to check to reassure the girls. As expected he finds no man, but in the following days the girls begin to refer to someone called Black Mamba. What seemingly begins as an imaginary friend quickly develops into something darker, more ob ..read more
Visit website

Follow BookBum on FeedSpot

Continue with Google
Continue with Apple
OR