Hi Ref, I saw some GMG which mentioned “Rol...
The Rugby Ref.co.uk
by
1y ago
 Hi Ref, I saw some GMG which mentioned “Rolling the ball back with hands by the scrum half position player during ruck, the ruck is end. How do you think and what laws supports this? Regards, Bly Hi there This brings up an interesting discussion around Game Management Guidelines (GMG's).  Every Union tends to have either their own set of GMG's, or none at all.  If your Union has GMG's then you should follow those, this will put you in step with all the other match officials in your area/country. For the purpose of this discussion however let’s stick to the laws of the game ..read more
Visit website
Leggings now legal for all players.
The Rugby Ref.co.uk
by
3y ago
A new law amendment from World Rugby, effective immediately (12 Oct 2021), will mean that all players now have the option of wearing tights/leggings on any playing surface. The World Rugby Executive Committee today approved an amendment to the laws of the game and Law 4 will now be extended. Currently permissible for women, Law 4 – covering player’s clothing – will now be extended to all participants with immediate effect, enabling the wearing of tights or leggings that are a cotton blend with a single inside leg seam. The announcement has been made on welfare and accessibility grounds and ref ..read more
Visit website
Taken Back In
The Rugby Ref.co.uk
by
3y ago
Hi, Just watching the All Blacks v S Africa game and a Springbok player kicked from his own 22 with the ball landing a metre or so outside the All Black's 22 which obviously is not a 50:22. The All Blacks Outside Half picked the ball up out of play and staying out of play retreated behind his 22 line, he then threw the ball quickly to his winger who was in the 22 who then kicked directly to touch within the Springbok's half - should this have been classed as taking the ball back into your own 22 with the line out throw awarded to the Springboks in the All Blacks 22. Rob Hi Rob Good question ..read more
Visit website
Global Law Trials
The Rugby Ref.co.uk
by
3y ago
The following global law trials apply to competitions beginning on or after 1st August 2021. World Rugby GLT's LINK 50:22 The trial If the team in possession kicks the ball from inside their own half indirectly into touch inside their opponents’ 22, they will throw into the resultant lineout. The ball cannot be passed or carried back into the defensive half for the 50:22 to be played. The phase must originate inside the defensive half. Primary intention To encourage the defensive team to put more players in the backfield, thereby creating more attacking space and reducing defensive line speed ..read more
Visit website
This question has been bugging me for a while
The Rugby Ref.co.uk
by
3y ago
Hi, This question has been bugging me for a while, and I'm not sure about the answer.  Scenario:  In a 15s match, team A has been awarded a penalty, and they chose to kick for goal by place kicking it. The attempt at goal was genuine, however, it wasn't successful and the ball ended up in touch (either because of the strong wind, poor execution, or the ball bounced off the post) without touching any player. According to law 18.8.c:  "Ball is kicked from a penalty.  Event: A player kicks the ball into touch (either directly or first bouncing in the field of play or hitting a ..read more
Visit website
Time on after PK
The Rugby Ref.co.uk
by
3y ago
 Hi Ref, I believe you also watched the match between End and Wales on last Sat. About the first try of Wales, i am curious about the “time on” calling of the ref. Was it a correct or proper time point or  management to call “time on” after the ref briefed to England’s captain? I believe the ref knew the England is still in a circle right before he blowed the time on whistle. Bly Thanks for the question Bly. Deception and subterfuge are all part of the game in rugby.  Dummy runners, switch plays, quick throw in's and taking quick penalties while the opposition are not paying ..read more
Visit website
Grounding with delay!
The Rugby Ref.co.uk
by
3y ago
Hi Ref, In 13.9 of the law book before 2018,  13.9 LAW 13 - KICK OFF AND RESTART KICKS 13.9 BALL GOES INTO THE IN-GOAL (b) If the opposing team grounds the ball, or if they make it dead, or if the ball becomes dead by going into touch-in-goal, or on or over the dead ball line, they have two choices: • To have a scrum formed at the centre, and they throw in the ball, or • To have the other team kick off again. (c) If they opt to ground the ball or make it dead, they must do so without delay. Any other action with the ball by a defending player means the player has elected to pl ..read more
Visit website
Law 21.17 Doubt about grounding
The Rugby Ref.co.uk
by
3y ago
 Hi Ref, About law 21.17, here we have a scenario: In open play and the time is up. What about the situation when neither the ref and AR don’t know if the ball is grounded or not. (No TMO in that pitch) Should we blow the whistle to finish the game or make the last scrum call, attacking team throw in? Regards, Bly Hi there Law 21.17 says "If there is any doubt about which team first grounded the ball in in-goal, play is restarts with a five metre scrum.." In your example we don't know if the ball as grounded or not, assuming the ball was taken into in-goal by the attacking team, and we ..read more
Visit website
Take any action to make the opponents believe that the ruck has ended, when it has not.
The Rugby Ref.co.uk
by
3y ago
Hi Ref, One situation I faced in today’s game. Ruck formed and the ball was possessed by team A. A’ no.9 was behind the ruck and put his hand on the ball (not picked up yet, that we know the ruck was not end.). One of A’s forward asked the no.9 to leave because they changed their strategy to move forward by some big men. The no.9 left but no players of B were misled to move cross the offside line. Should I let the ball play on or? What if team B’s player were misled to be offside? Manage them to be back on line or FK to team B Regards Bly Hi Bly So let's look at the facts. The ball hasn't be ..read more
Visit website
Taking a penalty kick incorrectly
The Rugby Ref.co.uk
by
3y ago
Has the law on how to take a penalty kick been changed? 2017 Law 21.4 "Sanction: Unless otherwise stated in Law any infringement by the kicker's team results in a scrum at the mark.  The opposing team throw in the ball." The current Law book uses the same criteria but gives no specific Sanction. We were told there were no changes in the "simplified" rewrite, so is this an error or a change?  Should we apply 9.7 (a) " A player must not intentionally infringe any law of the game" and award a Free Kick? Locally referees often merely require a correct retake for the first offence. Peter ..read more
Visit website

Follow The Rugby Ref.co.uk on FeedSpot

Continue with Google
Continue with Apple
OR