The Issues I Had With It Ends With Us
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
2w ago
Trigger warnings: domestic abuse, physical abuse, attempted rape There’s no denying that It Ends With Us is an iconic, important read that definitely cements Colleen Hoover as an author of choice. However, as I’ve felt before for a long time, I do think readers need to go into her books with caution – given the heavy handed use of triggering topics that seem to pop up either for the shock value, or for a big “twist”. It Ends With Us is no different. It is heavily marketed as a romance book, and the blurb even seems to hint at the love triangle for Lily Bloom. While it does feat ..read more
Visit website
Nona The Ninth Review: A Challenge to The Brain Cells
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
2M ago
Nona the Ninth () by Tamsyn Muir Series: The Locked Tomb #3 Published by Pan Macmillan Australia, Tordotcom on September 13, 2022 Source: Publisher Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Fiction, Science Fiction Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Angus & Robertson | Booktopia Add to Goodreads Her city is under siege. The zombies are coming back. And all Nona wants is a birthday party. In many ways, Nona is like other people. She lives with her family, has a job at her local school, and loves walks on the beach and meeting new dogs. But Nona's not like other people. Six months ago she woke up i ..read more
Visit website
The First To Die at The End Review: When Death is At Your Door
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
4M ago
The First to Die at the End by Adam Silvera Published by Simon & Schuster Ltd on October 4, 2022 Source: Publisher Genres: LGBT, Young Adult Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Booktopia | Barnes & Noble Add to Goodreads In this prequel to #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon They Both Die at the End, two new strangers spend a life-changing day together after Death-Cast first makes their fateful calls. It’s the night before Death-Cast goes live, and there’s one question on everyone’s mind: Can Death-Cast actually predict when someone will die, or is it just an elaborate hoax ..read more
Visit website
The Killing Code Review: Sapphic Codebreakers Solve Murders
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
4M ago
The Killing Code by Ellie Marney Published by Allen & Unwin on September 20, 2022 Source: Publisher Genres: Mystery, Thriller, War & Military, Young Adult Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Angus & Robertson | Booktopia Add to Goodreads A historical mystery about a girl who risks everything to track down a vicious serial killer, for fans of The Enigma Game and A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. Virginia, 1943: World War II is raging in Europe and on the Pacific front when Kit Sutherland is recruited to help the war effort as a codebreaker at Arlington Hall, a former gir ..read more
Visit website
The Atlas Six: Dark Academia Meets Morally Grey Magicians
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
5M ago
Here I was thinking that perhaps dark academia wasn’t for me, but then The Atlas Six comes along, and satisfies my craving for a deeply philosophical novel centered around magic. From the six different magicians, to the competition racing to the death, the philosophical discussions about life, knowledge and magic, this was everything I wanted and more. Morally grey magicians Each of the characters are fascinating, and I loved reading about each one of them. First you’ve got Libby and Nico, recent graduates who can transform the world based on their manipulation of physics. I loved th ..read more
Visit website
Babel by R.F. Kuang Review: Dark Academia Meets Colonisation
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
6M ago
Babel by R.F. Kuang Published by Harper Collins AU, Harper Voyager on 7 September 2022 Source: Publisher Genres: Fantasy, Fiction Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Angus & Robertson | Booktopia | Barnes & Noble Add to Goodreads Traduttore, traditore: An act of translation is always an act of betrayal. 1828. Robin Swift, orphaned by cholera in Canton, is brought to London by the mysterious Professor Lovell. There, he trains for years in Latin, Ancient Greek, and Chinese, all in preparation for the day he'll enroll in Oxford University's prestigious Royal Institute of Translation ..read more
Visit website
Love on the Brain Review: Deja Vu?
Happy Indulgence
by Jenna
7M ago
Love on the Brain by Ali Hazelwood Published by Berkley Books on August 23, 2022 Source: Purchased Genres: Chick Lit, Contemporary, Romance Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Angus & Robertson | Booktopia | Barnes & Noble Add to Goodreads A STEMinist rom-com in which a scientist is forced to work on a project with her nemesis--with explosive results. Like an avenging, purple-haired Jedi bringing balance to the mansplained universe, Bee Königswasser lives by a simple code: What would Marie Curie do? If NASA offered her the lead on a neuroengineering project--a literal dream come t ..read more
Visit website
The Bridge Kingdom & The Traitor Queen dual review: Why did I put off reading these for so long?
Happy Indulgence
by Bec
8M ago
The Bridge Kingdom by Danielle L. Jensen Series: The Bridge Kingdom #1 Published by Self Pub on October 16th, 2018 Source: Kindle Unlimited, Purchased Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Romance Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Angus & Robertson | Booktopia | Barnes & Noble Add to Goodreads Lara has only one thought for her husband on their wedding day: I will bring your kingdom to its knees. A princess trained from childhood to be a lethal spy, Lara knows that the Bridge Kingdom represents both legendary evil - and legendary promise. The only route through a storm-ravaged world, the Bridg ..read more
Visit website
The No-Show Review: Definitely Not What It Seems
Happy Indulgence
by Jenna
8M ago
The No-Show by Beth O'Leary Published by Quercus on April 5, 2022 Source: Audiobook, Purchased Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Angus & Robertson | Booktopia | Barnes & Noble Add to Goodreads Three women. Three dates. One missing man... 8.52. Siobhan's been looking forward to her breakfast date with Joseph. She was surprised when he suggested it - she normally sees him late at night in her hotel room. Breakfast with Joseph on Valentine's Day surely means something ... so where is he? 14.43. Miranda's hoping that a Valentine's Day lunch with ..read more
Visit website
An Arrow to the Moon Review: Chinese mythology modernised
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
8M ago
An Arrow to the Moon Published by Orion on April 19, 2022 Source: Publisher Genres: Magical Realism, Young Adult Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Booktopia Add to Goodreads Romeo and Juliet meets Chinese mythology in this magical novel by the New York Times bestselling author of The Astonishing Color of After. Hunter Yee has perfect aim with a bow and arrow, but all else in his life veers wrong. He’s sick of being haunted by his family’s past mistakes. The only things keeping him from running away are his little brother, a supernatural wind, and the bewitching girl at his new high scho ..read more
Visit website

Follow Happy Indulgence on Feedspot for daily/weekly email updates.

Continue with Google
Continue with Apple
OR