The Atlas Complex Review: The Conclusion of Tortured magical academics
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
1M ago
The Atlas Complex (The Atlas, #3) by Olivie Blake Series: The Atlas #3 Published by Pan Macmillan on January 9, 2024 Source: Publisher Genres: Adult Fantasy Fiction, Fantasy & Magic, Fiction Amazon | Publisher | Booktopia Add to Goodreads Only the extraordinary are chosen. Only the cunning survive. An explosive return to the library leaves the six Alexandrians vulnerable to the lethal terms of their recruitment. Old alliances quickly fracture as the initiates take opposing strategies as to how to deal with the deadly bargain they have so far failed to uphold. Those who remain with the a ..read more
Visit website
The Scarlet Veil Review: Vampire Romance is Back
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
4M ago
The Scarlet Veil by Shelby Mahurin Series: The Scarlet Veil #1 Published by Harper Collins Australia Source: Publisher Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Romance Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher Add to Goodreads This dark and thrilling vampire romance—set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Serpent & Dove series—is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas! Célie Tremblay has always been a good girl: kind and beautiful, a daughter of whom every parent would be proud. She surprises the entire kingdom when she defies tradition to become the first huntswoman—including her new capta ..read more
Visit website
A Study in Drowning Review: Magical Realism and a Thesis on a Mysterious Author
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
4M ago
A Study in Drowning by Ava Reid Published by HarperTeen, Penguin Australia on September 19, 2023 Source: Publisher, Edelweiss Genres: Magical Realism, Young Adult Publisher | Booktopia Add to Goodreads Effy Sayre has always believed in fairy tales. She’s had no choice. Since childhood, she’s been haunted by visions of the Fairy King. She’s found solace only in the pages of Angharad - author Emrys Myrddin’s beloved epic about a mortal girl who falls in love with the Fairy King, and then destroys him. Effy’s tattered, dog-eared copy is all that’s keeping her afloat through her stifling first t ..read more
Visit website
Yellowface by R.F. Kuang Review: A Bold, Unapologetic Tell-all of the Publishing Industry
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
7M ago
Yellowface by R.F. Kuang Published by Harper Collins on June 7, 2023 Source: Purchased Genres: Contemporary, Fiction Amazon | Publisher | Angus & Robertson | Booktopia Add to Goodreads Authors June Hayward and Athena Liu were supposed to be twin rising stars: same year at Yale, same debut year in publishing. But Athena's a cross-genre literary darling, and June didn't even get a paperback release. Nobody wants stories about basic white girls, June thinks. So when June witnesses Athena's death in a freak accident, she acts on impulse: she steals Athena's just-finished masterpiece, an expe ..read more
Visit website
The Last Tale of the Flower Bride Review: A Gothic Dark Fairytale
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
10M ago
The Last Tale of the Flower Bride by Roshani Chokshi Published by Hachette Australia, Hodder & Stoughton on February 16, 2023 Source: Publisher Genres: Adult Fantasy Fiction, Magical Realism Amazon | Publisher | Booktopia Add to Goodreads Once upon a time, a man who believed in fairy tales married a beautiful, mysterious woman named Indigo Maxwell-Casteñada. He was a scholar of myths. She was heiress to a fortune. They exchanged gifts and stories and believed they would live happily ever after—and in exchange for her love, Indigo extracted a promise: that her bridegroom would never pry i ..read more
Visit website
The Issues I Had With It Ends With Us
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
1y ago
Trigger warnings: domestic abuse, physical abuse, attempted rape There’s no denying that It Ends With Us is an iconic, important read that definitely cements Colleen Hoover as an author of choice. However, as I’ve felt before for a long time, I do think readers need to go into her books with caution – given the heavy handed use of triggering topics that seem to pop up either for the shock value, or for a big “twist”. It Ends With Us is no different. It is heavily marketed as a romance book, and the blurb even seems to hint at the love triangle for Lily Bloom. While it does feat ..read more
Visit website
Nona The Ninth Review: A Challenge to The Brain Cells
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
1y ago
Nona the Ninth () by Tamsyn Muir Series: The Locked Tomb #3 Published by Pan Macmillan Australia, Tordotcom on September 13, 2022 Source: Publisher Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Fiction, Science Fiction Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Angus & Robertson | Booktopia Add to Goodreads Her city is under siege. The zombies are coming back. And all Nona wants is a birthday party. In many ways, Nona is like other people. She lives with her family, has a job at her local school, and loves walks on the beach and meeting new dogs. But Nona's not like other people. Six months ago she woke up i ..read more
Visit website
The First To Die at The End Review: When Death is At Your Door
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
1y ago
The First to Die at the End by Adam Silvera Published by Simon & Schuster Ltd on October 4, 2022 Source: Publisher Genres: LGBT, Young Adult Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Booktopia | Barnes & Noble Add to Goodreads In this prequel to #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon They Both Die at the End, two new strangers spend a life-changing day together after Death-Cast first makes their fateful calls. It’s the night before Death-Cast goes live, and there’s one question on everyone’s mind: Can Death-Cast actually predict when someone will die, or is it just an elaborate hoax ..read more
Visit website
The Killing Code Review: Sapphic Codebreakers Solve Murders
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
1y ago
The Killing Code by Ellie Marney Published by Allen & Unwin on September 20, 2022 Source: Publisher Genres: Mystery, Thriller, War & Military, Young Adult Amazon | Book Depository | Publisher | Angus & Robertson | Booktopia Add to Goodreads A historical mystery about a girl who risks everything to track down a vicious serial killer, for fans of The Enigma Game and A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. Virginia, 1943: World War II is raging in Europe and on the Pacific front when Kit Sutherland is recruited to help the war effort as a codebreaker at Arlington Hall, a former gir ..read more
Visit website
The Atlas Six: Dark Academia Meets Morally Grey Magicians
Happy Indulgence
by Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
1y ago
Here I was thinking that perhaps dark academia wasn’t for me, but then The Atlas Six comes along, and satisfies my craving for a deeply philosophical novel centered around magic. From the six different magicians, to the competition racing to the death, the philosophical discussions about life, knowledge and magic, this was everything I wanted and more. Morally grey magicians Each of the characters are fascinating, and I loved reading about each one of them. First you’ve got Libby and Nico, recent graduates who can transform the world based on their manipulation of physics. I loved th ..read more
Visit website

Follow Happy Indulgence on FeedSpot

Continue with Google
Continue with Apple
OR