More Reader Reviews for Boxer Baby Battles Bedtime!
Pragmatic Mom
by Pragmatic Mom
3d ago
Thank you to Cindy and Beth for reviewing Boxer Baby Battles Bedtime! Here are their reviews on Twitter/X: Cindy G. | she/her @cindygreene314 @pragmaticmom does it again! Check out her very clever and hilarious Boxer Baby Battles Bedtime! Dad struggles to get his child to take a nap, told in a 3-round boxing match. Lots of laughs + I never realized how many boxing terms were idioms!  Beth Raff @Raff5K Interested in going a few rounds with a book? You will be charmed by Boxer Baby Battles Bedtime! by @pragmaticmom. Illustrations are by @KaiGietzen in his debut work. Discla ..read more
Visit website
24 Voting and Election Children’s Books
Pragmatic Mom
by Pragmatic Mom
5d ago
The United States was founded on principles of equality, justice, and the pursuit of happiness, but not everyone was allowed to vote when the country was founded. In fact, it would be centuries before all its citizens became eligible to vote. Voter suppression continues in many forms even today here in the United States. Unlike countries like Canada where every eligible citizen vote by mail, the United States still has voter registration purges, voting polling deserts, requests for mail-in ballots that are not fulfilled, and lack of mail-in ballots during the time of the COVID-19 pandemic that ..read more
Visit website
Donate to Read Your World 2nd Annual Online Auction
Pragmatic Mom
by Pragmatic Mom
5d ago
Our 2nd Annual Auction is fast approaching, and we’re seeking your support to raise funds to continue the work we do including: Themed Classroom Kits such as our Climate Change and Environmental Justice Kit. IG Live Interviews with KidLit creators. Book donations to teachers. Booklist resource to help readers find the diverse books they need. Do you have any items or services you’d be willing to contribute? Your donations are invaluable to our online auction. We will be accepting items and services until the end of March.  The auction is scheduled to run from Ap ..read more
Visit website
Beautiful Noise: The Music of John Cage Book Launch
Pragmatic Mom
by Pragmatic Mom
1w ago
I always enjoy going to Lisa Rogers’ book events. I didn’t realize that I was slightly familiar with John Cage, the subject of her most recent picture book, Beautiful Noise: The Music of John Cage, illustrated by Il Sung Na. At her book launch at Wellesley Books, I learned that he was a kind of inventor and musician, someone who made music out of ordinary objects. Someone who made music out of silence. In fact, 4′33″ (four minutes, thirty-three seconds) was a composition that my son would request at his hour-long guitar lesson with his teacher when he was feeling tired. It’s a legit song in w ..read more
Visit website
10 Diverse Picture Books about Gardens, Community, and Kindness
Pragmatic Mom
by Pragmatic Mom
1w ago
Please welcome my guest author, Erin Dealey! Her list includes diverse picture books about gardens, community, and kindness, all wonderful things to consider this winter. Her newest book is Just Flowers, and it releases on March 15, 2024, just in time for spring! Now is a good time to dream about gardens, especially for me in the Northeast. Seed catalogs contain the promise of bounty and new things to try. I can’t wait for the first bulbs to come up to signal the warmer weather! We are giving away either an Ask Me Anything with Erin Dealey OR a signed copy of Just Flowers. To enter, please fi ..read more
Visit website
Food for the Future: How to Grow Shitake Mushrooms
Pragmatic Mom
by Pragmatic Mom
1w ago
I have a mushroom farm set in Mexico in my picture book, Food for the Future: Sustainable Farms Around the World. The location was deliberate. The illustrator, Robert Sae-Heng grew up in Mexico and his family had a mushroom farm! What an incredible coincidence! Have you ever wondered how to grow mushrooms? Most commercial mushrooms are grown indoors in a sterile environment, but shiitake mushrooms are grown outside on logs. I took a learn to learn how with Amanda Dye at Powisset Farm in Dover, Massachusetts. She made it easy. Watch here:   My log had a little mishap rolling down from th ..read more
Visit website
50+ Great DIVERSE Early Chapter Books
Pragmatic Mom
by Pragmatic Mom
3w ago
I’m excited to be judging first-round Cybils this year in the categories of Easy Readers and Early Chapter Books. There were over 50 entrants for Early Chapter Books this year and we just finished picking the shortlist. Now, round 2 judges will take over to pick the final winners — 1 in each category! There were some standout Early Chapter Books that had diversity in the mix and I wanted to highlight the 50 great DIVERSE early chapter books I’ve read so far. How about you? What Early Chapter Books are you loving? Please share! 50+ Great DIVERSE Early Chapter Books For fans of Ivy and Bean, Cle ..read more
Visit website
My Art for the Aquent Talent Show 2023
Pragmatic Mom
by Pragmatic Mom
3w ago
I made a video of my watercolor paintings for my company’s virtual show. This is the long version. I submitted a shorter version that is half the length. I started watercolor painting as a form of mental health therapy back in 1995. I enjoy it so much that I’ve been taking art classes ever since. The pandemic lockdown made it harder because I was just on a roll taking art classes when everything shut down. I took a few art classes online during that time, and have slowly resumed again now that in-person classes are offered again at New Art Center and with the Newton Watercolor Society. I alway ..read more
Visit website
76 Great Diverse Graphic Novels for Kids and Teens
Pragmatic Mom
by Pragmatic Mom
3w ago
Graphic novels are my secret weapon to get any kid reading. My recent discovery is that there are also multicultural, diverse, and inclusive graphic novels that bring kids into different perspectives like what it’s like to have hearing loss or go through a civil war. Graphic novels also let us experience new worlds, both present, past, and future. And it’s the illustrations that tell part of the story with a low word count. It’s this inferencing … getting the story from both the words and the pictures that makes graphic novels a valuable reading comprehension tool for learning. So there you ha ..read more
Visit website
Wenham Tea House for Afternoon Tea
Pragmatic Mom
by Pragmatic Mom
3w ago
I used to take my mom to afternoon tea all over Southern California as a way of spending quality time with her. When my kids were very little, I brought them along as well and they were surprisingly well-behaved. The delicate China teacups all survived intact, despite tiny hands. Now that my children are all in college, my daughters still enjoy the ritual of Afternoon Tea. It’s such a nice way to slow down. I researched Afternoon Tea in Boston and decided to check out the Wenham Tea House with my daughter and her boyfriend. Here’s what we ate:   Our favorites were the sandwiches and the ..read more
Visit website

Follow Pragmatic Mom on FeedSpot

Continue with Google
Continue with Apple
OR