Acquisition Announcement: THE BLACK HUNGER by Nicholas Pullen
Orbit Books
by The Orbit Team
2d ago
Orbit is thrilled to have acquired The Black Hunger from debut author Nicholas Pullen, a spine-tingling and sprawling gothic journey into the heart of horror, perfect for fans of The Historian and The Terror. Orbit UK Commissioning Editor Nadia Saward bought World English rights in two novels from Natasha Mihell at The Rights Factory, with Senior Editor Bradley Englert acquiring for Orbit US. Publication is planned for Autumn 2024. John Sackville will soon be dead. Shadows writhe in the corners of his London cell and the gnawing hunger is growing impossible to ignore.  They will say he’s ..read more
Visit website
Cover Launch: MACHINE VENDETTA by Alastair Reynolds
Orbit Books
by The Orbit Team
1w ago
Take a look at the stunning cover for Machine Vendetta (US) by Alastair Reynolds and catch the synopsis below! Cover Design by Alexia Mazis From the king of modern space opera comes a new adventure in the Prefect Dreyfus series—Machine Vendetta is a thrilling tale of deadly conspiracies and old enemies that refuse to die.  Panoply is a small, efficient police force, dedicated to maintaining the rule of democracy among the ten thousand disparate city-states orbiting the planet Yellowstone. Ingvar Tench was one of Panoply’s most experienced operatives. So why did she walk alone and un ..read more
Visit website
Acquisition Announcement: LONG LIVE EVIL by Sarah Rees Brennan
Orbit Books
by Jenni Hill
1w ago
Time to prepare for your villain era – in the best possible way. We’ve just added the first adult novel from Sarah Rees Brennan to our list for 2024, and it’s her most villainous yet! Orbit pre-empted world rights in three fantasy novels from cult favourite YA author Sarah Rees Brennan. Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary sold world rights to Editorial Director Jenni Hill at Orbit UK, and Nivia Evans has acquired for Orbit US. The first adult novel from Sarah is Long Live Evil, in which a young woman wakes in the dangerous fictional world of her favourite fantasy novel. The book will appeal to ..read more
Visit website
Cover Launch: THE BLIGHTED STARS by Megan E. O’Keefe
Orbit Books
by The Orbit Team
2w ago
The Blighted Stars (US | UK) is the first installment in The Devoured Worlds, Megan E. O’Keefe’s brand new science fiction trilogy beginning May 2023. Take a look at the stunning cover and catch the synopsis below! Cover Design by Lauren Panepinto; Cover Illustration by Jaime Jones When a spy is stranded on a dead planet with her mortal enemy, she must first figure out how to survive before she can uncover the conspiracy that landed them there. This first book in a new epic space opera trilogy by award-winning author Megan E. O’Keefe is perfect for fans of Children of Time, Semiosis,&nbs ..read more
Visit website
Cover Launch: THE JASAD HEIR by Sara Hashem
Orbit Books | Science Fiction, Fantasy, Urban Fantasy
by The Orbit Team
1M ago
The Jasad Heir (US | UK) is Sara Hashem’s debut fantasy coming July 2023. Take a look at the stunning cover and catch the synopsis down below! You can also check out an exclusive first chapter excerpt over at io9. Cover Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio; Cover Art by Mike Heath/Magnus Creative In this Egyptian-inspired debut fantasy, a fugitive queen strikes a deadly bargain with her greatest enemy and finds herself embroiled in a complex game that could resurrect her scorched kingdom or leave it in ashes forever. At ten years old, the Heir of Jasad fled a massacre that takes her entire fami ..read more
Visit website
Acquisition Announcement: TONIGHT, I BURN by Katharine J. Adams
Orbit Books | Science Fiction, Fantasy, Urban Fantasy
by Priyanka Krishnan
1M ago
Photo Credit: Tara Lemana Orbit is thrilled to announce the acquisition of Tonight, I Burn by Katharine J. Adams! In this dark and decadent debut fantasy, a witch with the power to walk between the realms of Life and Death finds herself at the center of a magical rebellion—and a dangerous romance—that could destroy her coven and her soul. Lush and romantic, witchy and wonderful, it’s perfect for fans of Hannah Whitten and Rachel Gillig. Tonight, I Burn is hitting shelves November 2023 and is sure to become your next autumn obsession! Senior Editor Priyanka Krishnan acquired World English rig ..read more
Visit website
Cover Launch: THE MIDNIGHT KINGDOM by Tara Sim
Orbit Books | Science Fiction, Fantasy, Urban Fantasy
by The Orbit Team
1M ago
The Midnight Kingdom (US) is the second installment of Tara Sim’s Dark Gods trilogy—“a glorious tapestry of magic and murderous gods” (Buzzfeed News)—coming August 2023. Check out the stunning cover below! Cover Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio In The Midnight Kingdom, each heir walks a dangerous path, attempting to undo the damage the gods have wrought across the four realms. But they live on borrowed time. The divine will have their war—and not all of them will survive it. A cataclysmic battle to save the city of Nexus has left the four noble heirs scattered across the realms. Taesia, the shad ..read more
Visit website
Acquisition Announcement: THE CITY OF STARDUST by Georgia Summers
Orbit Books | Science Fiction, Fantasy, Urban Fantasy
by The Orbit Team
1M ago
We’re delighted to announce Orbit’s sister imprint, Redhook, has acquired Georgia Summers’ rich and evocative fantasy debut, The City of Stardust. Set in a world with the whimsy and darkness of a fairytale, The City of Stardust follows a woman who discovers her family owes a blood debt to a powerful being, and must venture into a hidden realm of magic, gods, and monsters to escape her fate. Perfect for readers of Alix E. Harrow and Erin Morgenstern, The City of Stardust will transport you to a world you’ll want to visit over and over again.   The Everly family is cursed. Every generation ..read more
Visit website
Cover Launch: THE PHOENIX KING by Aparna Verma
Orbit Books | Science Fiction, Fantasy, Urban Fantasy
by The Orbit Team
2M ago
The Phoenix King by Aparna Verma is first in a debut fantasy trilogy, coming August 2023. In a kingdom where fire is magic and the dunes hide secrets, an assassin and a princess face an ancient prophecy that would burn the world to ash. Take a look at the stunning cover below. Cover Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio The first in a sensational, action-packed debut epic fantasy trilogy in which an assassin and a princess navigate a world teetering on the edge of war and contend with an ancient prophecy that could remake the world.  Yassen Knight was the Arohassin’s most notorious assassin ..read more
Visit website
Cover Launch: THE LOST WAR by Justin Lee Anderson
Orbit Books | Science Fiction, Fantasy, Urban Fantasy
by The Orbit Team
2M ago
Justin Lee Anderson’s sensational epic fantasy debut, The Lost War (US | UK), follows an emissary for the king as he gathers a group of strangers and embarks on a dangerous quest across a war-torn land. Take a look at the stunning cover below and pick up a copy in May 2023. Cover Design by Lauren Panepinto; Cover Illustration by Jeremy Wilson The war is over, but the beginnings of peace are delicate. Demons continue to burn farmlands, violent mercenaries roam the wilds, and a plague is spreading. The country of Eidyn is on its knees. In a society that fears and shuns him, Aranok is the first ..read more
Visit website

Follow Orbit Books on Feedspot

Continue with Google
OR