Review - A Certain Darkness
Mysteries and My Musings
by A.F. Heart
11h ago
 Set in post WWI we find out about the this pivotal war from the perspective of a spy now decommissioned but somehow drawn back into the game again and again. 1) This Side of Murder (click here) 3) Penny for Your Secrets (click here)  Author guest post (click here) Author: Anna Lee Huber Copyright: August 2022 (Kensington Books) 370 pgs Series: 6th in Verity Kent Mysteries Sensuality: Perilous situations Mystery Sub-genre: Intrigue, Suspense Main Character: Verity Kent, former British spy and married into money Setting: 1920, London Obtained Through: Publisher ( Netgalley) for hones ..read more
Visit website
Review - Murder at an Irish Castle
Mysteries and My Musings
by A.F. Heart
1w ago
The promotion for this new series claims "Fans of Hannah Dennison and Carlene O’Connor’s mysteries are in for a treat with Ellie Brannigan’s captivating debut cozy mystery, complete with a sharp and endearing protagonist."  That along with the Ireland setting got me to give it a try.  This is a new-to-me author so I wasn't sure what I was getting into.  Read on to find out about this new cozy mystery series and my thoughts. Author: Ellie Brannigan Copyright: February 2023 (Crooked Lane Books) 313 pgs Series: 1st in Irish Castle Mysteries Sensuality: n/a Mystery Sub-genre ..read more
Visit website
Musings - Book Themed Party
Mysteries and My Musings
by A.F. Heart
1w ago
I recently went to a birthday celebration for an adult where her children honored her love of reading with a book theme.  I loved the idea and wanted to share it with all of you.   Step 1 - Find Your Theme The party I attended had the general theme of books/reading, but you could pick a specific genre, like mysteries, Sci-fy, romances, or history, You could use a specific book for the theme, like The Great Gatesby, if the party's guest of honor is a fan of the book.  Imagine a Dune, Hunger Games, or Harry Potter themed party.   Just make sure the book has lots ..read more
Visit website
Review - The Omega Factor
Mysteries and My Musings
by A.F. Heart
2w ago
International bestselling author Steve Berry gives us a new main character. Nicholas Lee is a UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization) investigator working in the CLIO (Cultural Liason and Investigative Office.)  When Publishers Weekly says "Dan Brown fans will want to check this one out," I just had to see for myself.  Author: Steve Berry Copyright: June 2022 (Grand Central Publishing) 465 pgs Series: 1st in Nicholas Lee Thriller (maybe a stand alone) Sensuality: Some action violence scenes Mystery Sub-genre: Suspense Thriller  Main ..read more
Visit website
Mystery Movie Review - Enola Holmes 2
Mysteries and My Musings
by A.F. Heart
2w ago
I reviewed the first movie in this Netflix movie franchise (click here).  While Sherlock pureists won't like this for the few liberties taken to fit a younger sister into the Holmes canon, this is still a great Sherlock-adjacent mystery/adventure.  Originally based on the books by author Nancy Springer with 6 books in the series thus far at this writing. What it's about: "Fresh off the triumph of solving her first case, Enola Holmes (Millie Bobby Brown) follows in the footsteps of her famous brother, Sherlock (Henry Cavill), and opens her own agency -- only to find that life as a ..read more
Visit website
Review - A Trip with Trouble
Mysteries and My Musings
by A.F. Heart
2w ago
If you like a more "mature" heroine for your cozy mystery, this is the book for you with a 50 year old starting the next chapter in her life after a divorce.  I reviewed the debut novel is this new series and now I'm happy to review the second.  Read on to find out the details. 1) Getaway With Murder (click here) Author: Diane Kelly Copyright: October 2022 (St. Martins) 297 pgs Series: 2nd in Mountain Lodge Mysteries Sensuality: mild Mystery Sub-genre: Cozy Mystery Main Characters: Misty Murphy, new owner of the Mountaintop Lodge Setting: Modern day, Blue Ridge Mountains of North C ..read more
Visit website
Mystery Movie Review - Three Pines
Mysteries and My Musings
by A.F. Heart
3w ago
The bestselling Inspector Gamache mystery series by Louise Penny is the basis for this television series.  The books are up to 18 in the series at this writing. There was a made-for-TV movie of the first book, Still Life, staring Nathaniel Parker in 2013.  But this television series is through Amazon Prime and stands out as exemplary.  The first season has eight episodes containing four murders in two-part segments.  A season two is hoped for but no definitive decision has been reached by Amazon studios yet. What it's about: Three Pines is a police procedural whe ..read more
Visit website
New Year-Fresh Start
Mysteries and My Musings
by A.F. Heart
1M ago
Happy New Year!  Ready for 2023?   As we face a new year, many are setting resolutions or goals for the next twelve months.  While it is good to have goals, check out the post I wrote two years ago about micro-changes that makes it easier (click here).   Also, as you look at the next twelve months and what you want to accomplish, consider a vision board.  Vision boards don't have to be big, you can always use a sheet or several sheets of paper and doodle, write, and attach pictures.   However you approach setting your desires for the year into ..read more
Visit website
Review - Snuffed Out
Mysteries and My Musings - A celebration of Mystery and Suspense
by A.F. Heart
2M ago
 This is a debut novel of new magical cozy mystery series that will be released Jan 10, 2023.  It has a touch of magic and cats. Author: Valona Jones Copyright: December 2011 (Berkley) 320 pgs Series: 1st in Magic Candle Shop Mysteries Sensuality: off-page intimate relationships Mystery Sub-genre: Suspense Main Characters: Twin sisters Tabby and Sage Setting: Modern day, Savannah Georgia Obtained Through: Publisher for honest review Book Blurb: "Twin sisters Tabby and Sage co-own a candle shop, but will it all go up in flames in Valona Jones’ series debut, perfect for fans of Am ..read more
Visit website
Musings - Hard Boiled Detective Fiction
Mysteries and My Musings - A celebration of Mystery and Suspense
by A.F. Heart
3M ago
  Noir detective fiction, also called hard boiled fiction, is where the main character is usually a private investigator or police detectives in urban settigns. Noir fiction are essentially crime novels where the crime-ridden city is a character and the outlook is dark (thus noir-french for black) and cynical. The 1920s dime novel (what we would call a novela now) detective was the pre-cursor for the noir detective novel.  It was an early influence on crime fiction and was critical to sustain mystery novels after Edgar Alan Poe until Sherlock Holmes exploded on the scene. Cheap Ame ..read more
Visit website

Follow Mysteries and My Musings on Feedspot

Continue with Google
OR